AM ExplorerThis link opens in a new windowSearch platform for a multitude of primary source collections spanning the 15th-21st centuries. It includes collections spanning the social sciences and humanities.
American Broadsides and EphemeraThis link opens in a new windowPrimary source collection includes broadsides and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. Pieces of ephemera include sailing cards, early trade cards, theater and music programs, stock certificates, menus & more.
This link opens in a new window
American History, 1493-1945This link opens in a new windowCollection documenting American History from 1493-1945. Includes primary sources relating to settlement, commerce, revolution and reform, the Civil War, and reconstruction.
This link opens in a new window
Indigenous Histories and Culture in North AmericaThis link opens in a new windowPrimary source material relating to Indigenous American history in the United States, Canada and Mexico. The collection contains documents, maps, photographs and artwork from the 16th to the mid-20th century.
This link opens in a new window
American Indians and the American West (ProQuest History Vault)This link opens in a new windowPrimary source collection on Indigenous Americans in the 19th and 20th centuries, with a focus on: westward migration, Indian Wars, the U.S. federal government, interaction among white settlers, and Indigenous tribes
American Pamphlets (1820-1922)This link opens in a new windowItems in this collection address slavery, suffrage and other divisive issues and include speeches, orations, debates, sermons, narratives, poems, songs, and memoirs from 1820-1922.
This link opens in a new window
American Revolution ArchivesThis link opens in a new windowRevolutionary War era primary source records as well as papers and foreign letters of the Continental Congress, Constitutional Convention records, and correspondences of George Washington.
This link opens in a new window
American WestThis link opens in a new windowPrimary source collection describing westward expansion in America from the early eighteenth to the mid-twentieth century.
This link opens in a new window
Archives UnboundThis link opens in a new windowTopically-focused collections of historical documents covering a broad range of scholarly subjects
Colonial AmericaThis link opens in a new windowPrimary sources covering the period 1606-1822, and consists of original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies. Materials cover early settlement, the American Revolution, politics, and growth & trade.
Crime, Punishment, and Popular CultureThis link opens in a new windowPrimary source collection of crime-related materials, including court proceedings, forensic documents, true crime literature, and newspaper accounts and show how the justice system evolved in the 19th century.
Early State RecordsIncludes legislative records, statutory law, constitutional, administrative, executive, court, and local records, records of American Indian nations, newspapers, rudimentary states and courts, and miscellany.
European Views of the AmericasThis link opens in a new windowCitation search of primary sources related to the Americas and written in Europe before 1750.
Leisure, Travel, and Mass Culture: The History of TourismThis link opens in a new windowPrimary source collection relating to the multi-national expansion of tourism, including guidebooks & brochures, correspondence, photographs, and personal travel journals from 1850-1980s.
This link opens in a new window
Immigration Records of the INS (ProQuest History Vault)This link opens in a new windowINS records from 1880-1930, covering Asian, Mexican, and European immigration to the U.S. There are also files on the INS's regulation of prostitution and white slavery and on suppression of radical immigrants.
This link opens in a new window
Indigenous Peoples: North AmericaThis link opens in a new windowPrimary source materials documenting the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada from the 17th to 21st century.
This link opens in a new window
Jewish Life in America 1654-1954This link opens in a new windowPrimary source collection documenting Jewish communities in America from 1654-1954. Materials on social aspects of Jewish identity & culture, and Jewish involvement in political life in America.
Medical Services and WarfareThis link opens in a new windowMaterials on the history of injury, treatment, and disease during warfare from 1850-1949. Materials from U.S., U.K., and Canada and cover the Crimean War, American Civil War, WWI, and WWII.
This link opens in a new window
Native American ArchivesThis link opens in a new windowCollection of documents and images of Native American history, including: Indian Census Rolls, Dawes Packets, Dawes Enrollment Cards, Eastern Cherokee Applications, Guion Miller Roll, Cherokee Indian Agency TN, and Ratified Indian Treaties.
Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900This link opens in a new windowPrimary source materials on the history of popular remedies and treatments in nineteenth century America. The materials cover popular trends such as phrenology, herbal medicine and hydrotherapy
This link opens in a new window
ProQuest CongressionalThis link opens in a new windowCongressional publications and legislative histories. Publications include bills, public laws, and statutes, Daily record, hearings, reports, and executive documents.
This link opens in a new window
ProQuest History VaultThis link opens in a new windowLarge collection of primary source materials related to American history, including wars, women's rights, slavery and the law, confederacy, and foreign policy.
Sabin AmericanaThis link opens in a new windowFull text books, pamphlets, and documents about the Americas published from 1500-1926.
Trade Catalogues and the American HomeThis link opens in a new windowPrimary sources covering domestic consumerism, focusing on life and leisure in America from 1850-1950. Includes highly illustrated documents that showcase products and services advertised for consumers and wholesalers.
Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy (ProQuest History Vault)This link opens in a new windowDocuments highlighting foreign policy issues facing the U.S. between 1960 and 1975 and offers detailed information on the countries in which the U.S. diplomatic or military officials were stationed. It includes the AP Saigon Bureau records, CIA research reports, and National Security Council files.
This link opens in a new window
Virginia Company ArchivesThis link opens in a new windowPrimary source materials documenting the developments in Virginia as seen through the papers of the Virginia Company of London (1606-1624). Includes documents on trade between Britain and America and tensions among colonists and Native Americans.
This link opens in a new window
American Civil War Collection (1860-1922)This link opens in a new windowCollection of materials addressing all facets of the Civil War and postwar period, between 1860 and 1922. Includes materials such as broadsides, maps, pamphlets, political cartoons, and photographs.
This link opens in a new window
American Slavery : A Composite AutobiographyThis link opens in a new windowFull-text database of slave narratives from transcripts of 2,000 interviews of former slaves from seventeen states, conducted between 1936 and 1938.
This link opens in a new window
American Slavery Collection (1820-1922)This link opens in a new windowCollection of slavery and abolition materials addressing every facet of American slavery. Materials included are: books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera.
Black Abolitionist PapersThis link opens in a new windowPrimary source collection of proceedings, documents, correspondences, manuscripts, and literary works of Black abolitionists detailing the work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War, covering 1830-1865.
HarpWeekThis link opens in a new windowFull text access to Harper's Weekly from 1857-1871.
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and MagazinesThis link opens in a new windowArticles from confederate, union, abolitionist, and British presses, from 1860-1865, and representing both Union and Confederate points of view.
ProQuest Civil War EraThis link opens in a new windowPrimary source materials related to the civil war, including: economic factors, the abolitionist movement, battle casualties, and emancipation.
This link opens in a new window
ProQuest CongressionalThis link opens in a new windowCongressional publications and legislative histories. Publications include bills, public laws, and statutes, Daily record, hearings, reports, and executive documents.
Slavery and the Law (ProQuest History Vault)This link opens in a new windowPetitions on race, slavery, and free blacks that were submitted to state legislatures and county courthouses between 1775 and 1867.
This link opens in a new window
Slavery Abolition and Social Justice 1490-2007This link opens in a new windowPrimary and secondary source material relating to the subjects of slavery, abolition, and social justice, from 1490-2007.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Slavery and Anti-Slavery ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowCollections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
America in World War Two: Oral histories and personal accountsThis link opens in a new windowStories of American military personnel and civilians during World War II, through oral histories, correspondence, diaries, photographs, artifacts, and military records.
CQ ResearcherThis link opens in a new windowOriginal, comprehensive reporting and analysis written by journalists on issues in the news. Includes pro/con debates and current "hot topics"
ProQuest CongressionalThis link opens in a new windowCongressional publications and legislative histories. Publications include bills, public laws, and statutes, Daily record, hearings, reports, and executive documents.
First World WarThis link opens in a new windowPrimary and secondary source documents highlighting the experiences of soldiers, civilians, and governments on both sides of World War 1.
Women, War, and Society, 1914-1918This link opens in a new windowPrimary source materials from WWI cover the contribution of women to the war in Europe, from 1914-1918. The collection includes charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, and press cuttings.
Service Newspapers of World War TwoThis link opens in a new windowCollection of newspapers published during WWII and its immediate aftermath (1939-1948). Includes some non-English material as well.
This link opens in a new window
Shoah Foundation Visual History ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowStreaming video collection of more than 55,000 primary source testimonies of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other crimes against humanity.
This link opens in a new window
Testaments to the HolocaustThis link opens in a new windowDocuments reflecting personal accounts of life in Nazi Germany, photographs, propaganda materials such as school text books, small publications and rare serials reflecting Jewish life in Germany from 1889-1965.
This link opens in a new window
Women at Work during World War II (ProQuest History Vault)This link opens in a new windowPrimary sources documents on a wide range of issues pertinent to American women during WW2, including records and correspondence of women’s work in war industries, pivotal issues like equal pay, childcare and race, and extensive documentation on the women served in the Women’s Army Corps.
This link opens in a new window
World War II ArchivesThis link opens in a new windowPhotos, timelines, documents, maps, and stories of soldiers during WWII. Also includes news articles from home about the war, case files about war crimes, and accounts of air battles.
Advertising America ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowPrimary source papers, from the J. Walter Thompson advertising firm archive, that reveal many aspects of twentieth-century cultural, social, business, marketing, consumer and economic history.
This link opens in a new window
American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990This link opens in a new windowDocuments from the American Civil Liberties Union, offering insight into the civil battles of the twentieth century including debates on race, gender, protesting, and roles of police and government.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ history and culture since 1940This link opens in a new windowPrimary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. The content sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more.
CQ Press LibraryThis link opens in a new windowResources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences.
This link opens in a new window
CQ ResearcherThis link opens in a new windowOriginal, comprehensive reporting and analysis written by journalists on issues in the news. Includes pro/con debates and current "hot topics"
Digital National Security ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowFull text declassified government documents. The collection covers critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century. Glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, and photographs are included.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily ReportsThis link opens in a new windowFBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Global media reports include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary.
Homeland Security Digital LibraryElectronic documents made available by the Dudley Knox Library at the Naval Postgraduate School, searchable by keyword or by topic, including general U.S. policy documents, national strategy documents, theses and research papers from the Center for Homeland Defense and Security and the Naval Postgraduate School, and homeland security executive orders. Also includes notices of events and conferences pertaining to homeland security, and news items drawn from various news sources.
Independent VoicesThis link opens in a new windowCollection of alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, and extreme right-wing press.
This link opens in a new window
Joint Publications Research Service ReportsThis link opens in a new windowEnglish-language archive of translations of foreign scientific, technical, and social science documents and other materials, including radio and television broadcasts.
This link opens in a new window
Leisure, Travel, and Mass Culture: The History of TourismThis link opens in a new windowPrimary source collection relating to the multi-national expansion of tourism, including guidebooks & brochures, correspondence, photographs, and personal travel journals from 1850-1980s.
This link opens in a new window
Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965This link opens in a new windowMarket research reports, business correspondence, and notes, of Ernest Dichter, a foremost consumer analyst and market researcher, from 1935-1965.
Nixon Years, 1969-1974This link opens in a new windowComplete Foreign Commonwealth Office files from Britain covering Nixon's entire presidential term, from 1969-1974. These papers offer an assessment of his term from a British and European perspective.
Sex & Sexuality: the Kinsey Institute PapersThis link opens in a new windowPrimary sources collected by prominent sex researchers and consists of unpublished professional papers, reports, correspondences, and autobiographical accounts encompassing all aspects of sex, sexuality & gender identity.
U.S. Declassified Documents OnlineThis link opens in a new windowCollection of previously classified federal documents ranging from the years immediately following World War II through the 1970s. Materials include intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
