Individual Papers
- Chicago Defender: 1909-1975 This link opens in a new window Full text of the newspaper Chicago Defender from 1909-1975.
This link opens in a new window
- Chicago Tribune, historical newspaper This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1849 - 1998
- Christian Science Monitor1960-2009
- Cleveland Call and Post: 1934-1991 This link opens in a new window Full text of the newspaper Cleveland Call and Post from 1934-1991
- This link opens in a new window
- Cleveland Leader: 1852-1913 This link opens in a new window Cleveland Leader Historical Newspaper access from 1852-1913
This link opens in a new window
- Columbus Dispatch Newspaper with historic archive This link opens in a new window Columbus Dispatch newspaper full text from 1871 through today.
- This link opens in a new window
- Daily Mail Historical Archive (1896-2016) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1896 - 2004
- Daily Observer (1981 - 2016, Liberia) Founded in 1981, the Daily Observer is Liberia’s best-known, independent, national newspaper. The Daily Observer is notable for its coverage of the modern history of Liberia—including the Liberian Civil War and through its current phase of development.
- Evening Star, 1852 - 1922 This link opens in a new window Archive of daily newspaper from 1852-1922 published in Washington D.C.
- This link opens in a new window
- Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2016 This link opens in a new window Archive from 1888-2016 of daily business newspaper out of London that also covers global financial and economic issues.
- This link opens in a new window
- Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1842-2003. Also available in print.
- Listener Historical Archive (BBC) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1929-1991 - Moscow News Digital Archive This link opens in a new window English language newspaper published in Russia from 1930-2014. The Moscow News reflects the shifting ideological, political, social and economic currents within the Soviet Union and Russia in the last century
- This link opens in a new window
- New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window Access to The New York Times on the nytimes.com platform*Must create individual account for first time access*NYT account creation instructions
- This link opens in a new window
- New York Times (Historical archive) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1851-2017 Also available in microfilm. - Sunday Times (of London) Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1822-2016 - Telegraph Historical Archive 1855-2016 This link opens in a new window Archive of the British Newspaper, The Telegraph, from 1855-2016. The newspaper published widely on foreign affairs and foreign cultures.
- This link opens in a new window
- Times (of London) Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1785-2014. Also available in microfilm. - Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1902-2014 - Times of India This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1838-2010. Also available in microfilm.
- Wall Street Journal1961-2009
- Washington Post (1877-2006) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1877-2004
Non-English Language Sources
- Non English Language News (NexisUni)Limit by language at the bottom of the search page.
- El Caribe Digital Archive, 1956-2021 El Caribe is a Spanish-language daily newspaper published in Santo Domingo and is one of the Dominican Republic’s most influential and longest-running newspapers. Founded in 1948 under the repressive Trujillo regime (1930-1961), the newspaper has borne witness to decades of political uncertainty, economic development, and social change. Except for brief interruptions in publication for a month in 1962 and seven months in 1965, El Caribe has been a constant chronicle of national and international news, both for the Dominican Republic and the broader Caribbean region.
- Caribbean Newspapers This link opens in a new window Newspapers from 22 islands in the Caribbean, from 1718-1876.
- This link opens in a new window
- Compact Memory: Internet Archive of Jewish Periodicals118 German language Jewish periodicals published from 1806 to 1938.
- Ethnic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window Newspapers in 10 languages from 25 states, from 1799-1971. Emphasis on Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak and Welsh descent.
- This link opens in a new window
- Hispanic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
- This link opens in a new window
- Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection Japanese diaspora newspapers
- Imperial Russian Newspapers 18th century up to the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution
- Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers This collection traces the evolution of Mexico during this pivotal period. Comprising over 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news. While holdings of many of the newspapers in this collection are available only in very short runs, the titles are often unique and, in many cases, represent the only existing record of a newspaper’s short-lived publication.
- Late Qing and Republican Era Chinese Newspapers (1911-1949) The press of more than twenty cities is represented, spanning the Chinese mainland and the entire half century. The collection provides researchers a richly comprehensive perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic.
- Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers This link opens in a new window Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection, from 1870-present, predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French.
- El Mundo (Puerto Rico, 1919 - 1990) Founded in 1919, El Mundo (The World) was a respected, conservative newspaper from Puerto Rico and was widely considered a key source for news until it ceased in 1990. The paper strived to live up to its slogan “Verdad y Justicia” (Truth and Justice). Key topics covered by the newspaper include industrialization of Puerto Rican society, the Great Depression, territorial relations with the United States including citizenship and activities of independence movements such as the Macheteros and FALN, the rise of the Popular Democratic Party, the Ponce massacre, the Ley de la Mordaza (Gag Law) and more.
- Newspapers at CRLMay be borrowed through InterLibrary Loan
- Southeast Asian Newspapers, 1839-1976 Southeast Asia in the late-Nineteenth and early-Twentieth centuries was largely and violently controlled by Western colonial powers, with most of the region divided among the British, French, Dutch, Spanish, and American empires, supplanted by a brief period of Japanese colonialism following the outbreak of war in Europe and the Pacific. The post-World War II era witnessed a series of revolutions as local leaders looked to regain independence from colonial powers. Decolonization efforts spread throughout the region, alongside turmoil and bloodshed, ultimately leaving the newly independent states in charge of their own political, economic, and social pathways for the first time in decades. The Southeast Asian Newspapers collection chronicles the changes that took place throughout the region during this period, and the challenges of early statehood. Covering several countries from the region, including Myanmar (formerly Burma), Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam, and featuring multiple languages such as Dutch, English, French, Javanese, Spanish, and Vietnamese, the Southeast Asian Newspapers collection incorporates a wealth of coverage and perspectives on major regional and global events of the late 19th and 20th centuries.
Current News
- New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window Access to The New York Times on the nytimes.com platform*Must create individual account for first time access*NYT account creation instructions
- This link opens in a new window
- Columbus Dispatch Newspaper with historic archive This link opens in a new window Columbus Dispatch newspaper full text from 1871 through today.
- This link opens in a new window
- America's News This link opens in a new window Full text newspapers and transcripts from a variety of news media including the Columbus Dispatch, USA today, and more
- This link opens in a new window
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni features news, business, government, and legal sources from LexisNexis, dating back to 1790. It includes articles, broadcasts, newswires, and newspapers archives from the local to international level.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window Full text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, and newspaper columns. Television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper and Periodical Collections
- African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1827-1998
- African American Newspapers on Microfilm14 additional titles at Kenyon
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1690-1998 - America's News This link opens in a new window Full text newspapers and transcripts from a variety of news media including the Columbus Dispatch, USA today, and more
- This link opens in a new window
- Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window North American Indigenous newspaper publications from 1828 to 2016. Includes national, local, and student publications with a range of subjects from an Indigenous perspective.
- This link opens in a new window
- American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020 This link opens in a new window Newspapers published in U.S. prisons and penal institutions from across the country, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Associated Press Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1938-2009 - Chinese Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1832 - 1953
- Chronicling AmericaSelection of American newspapers, 1836-1922
- Hispanic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1808-1980
- Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection Japanese diaspora newspapers
- Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines This link opens in a new windowConfederate, union, abolitionist and British presses.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new window Collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, and extreme right-wing press.
- This link opens in a new window
- Documenting White Supremacy and Its Opponents in the 1920s This link opens in a new window Local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers in the 1920s. It also includes key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by American Black, Catholic, and Jewish communities
- Knox County, Ohio NewspapersMicrofilm
- Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers This link opens in a new window Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection, from 1870-present, predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspapers from around the world. - Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of 40 newspapers plus selective full text from additional newspapers.
- Newspapers at CRLMay be borrowed through InterLibrary Loan
- British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
48 newspapers - Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
400 newspapers
- Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1890 - 1982 - Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window Collection of newspapers published during WWII and its immediate aftermath (1939-1948). Includes some non-English material as well.
- This link opens in a new window
- Seventeenth & Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1,270 newspapers - Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Nichols Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window Newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets covering the period 1672-1737 published in the United Kingdom.
- This link opens in a new window
- TroveAustralian newspapers
- 20th Century American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
10 newspapers, includes Plain Dealer