It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
African American Poetry 1700-1900This link opens in a new windowPoems and prose by African American poets with topics including: abolition, children, civil rights, education, fugitive slave law, Indian raids, liberty, prejudice, and slavery.
Afro-Americana ImprintsThis link opens in a new windowBooks, pamphlets, and broadsides that record African American history, literature, and culture. Created from the Library Company's Afro-Americana Collection and covers 1535-1922.
American DramaThis link opens in a new windowContains more than 700 plays of American dramatic literature
American Poetry 1600-1900This link opens in a new windowPoems by American writers from the 17th to the early 20th century. Any accompanying text written by the original author is included if available.
America's Historical ImprintsThis link opens in a new windowEarly American books, pamphlets, broadsides and rare printed materials that document centuries of American history, literature, culture and daily life.
ARTFLThis link opens in a new windowFrench language texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose. Includes eighteenth through twentieth century texts, as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts.
Children's Literature and CultureThis link opens in a new windowCollection includes the history and literature of childhood between the 1820s and 1920s. Rare books and unique works of art trace the development and evolution of children’s publishing.
Early American FictionThis link opens in a new windowFull text of American novels and short stories from 1774-1850.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of digitized English literature books originally printed in the British Isles and North America from 1473-1700.
Editions and Adaptations of ShakespeareThis link opens in a new windowComplete text of eleven major editions of Shakespeare's works, printings of individual plays, and many adaptations, sequels and burlesques.
Eighteenth Century DramaThis link opens in a new windowArchive of almost every play submitted for license in Britain between 1737 and 1824. Includes hundreds of documents such as diaries and correspondences that provide social context for the plays at that time.
Eighteenth Century FictionThis link opens in a new windowEnglish fiction from the period 1700-1780, by writers from the British Isles.
English Poetry 600 - 1900This link opens in a new windowFull text of thousands of poems by poets from British Commonwealth and ex-colonial countries, between the years 600 and 1900. Works in English of Welsh, Scottish, and Irish poets are also included.
English Prose Drama 1280-1915This link opens in a new windowFull text of English plays, including any accompanying text written by the author. Contains works from the Renaissance to the end of the 19th century.
English Verse Drama 13th-19th CenturiesThis link opens in a new windowFull text of English poetry intended for stage. The database also includes masques and short dramatic pieces written primarily in verse, selected translations, works written for children and numerous adaptations.
Loeb Classical LibraryThis link opens in a new windowGreek and Latin literature available with accurate English translations to support research in the Classics. Searching is available by person, place, a quotation, or how a particular word has been translated in a work, or by an author.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)This link opens in a new windowPrimary sources from the 1800s mainly from Western perspectives. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other documents.
Nineteenth Century Literary SocietyThis link opens in a new windowArchive of a British publishing company from 1768-1900. The collection covers book history to travel writing, and politics to poetry. It also includes both the manuscripts and personal papers of Lord Byron.
TLG (Thesaurus Linguae Graecae)This link opens in a new windowGreek texts from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453 with text displayed in Greek. Users must create a personal account to see all content.
Women Writers OnlineThis link opens in a new windowWomen’s literary works in the early modern period, from 1526-1850. Texts are of verse, drama, fiction, and non-fiction.
Victorian Popular CultureThis link opens in a new windowResource for the study of popular entertainment in Britain and America, from about 1779-1950. Primary and secondary documents on topics such as spiritualism & magic, circuses, music halls and cinema are included.
British Literary ManuscriptsThis link opens in a new windowImages of British literary manuscripts, including letters, diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works. Coverage from the medieval time period to 1900.
Literary Manuscripts, Berg collectionThis link opens in a new windowEnglish and American Victorian literary manuscripts collection, also includes: unpublished poems, working notebooks, correspondences, drawings, and author annotated editions.
Romanticism: Life, Literature and LandscapeThis link opens in a new windowCollection focusing on poets and writers of the Romantic period. It provides access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers.