This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Kenyon College

 

Film Resources: Reference Works

Print resources

Reference works like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks will give you an overview of and background information on a topic, clarify important terms and ideas, and even suggest avenues for further research. The resources listed to the right are a small sample of the film-related materials in the reference collection located on the second floor of the Kenyon Library; you may also browse the PN1992-PN1998 call number range to find additional related works.

Writing About Film Resources

Writing and Citing Guide (web resource) general resources for research and writing

A Short Guide to Writing About Film (7th edition) REF PN1995 .C66 2010

Film Studies

Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory REF PN1993 .45 C75 2001

The Film Studies Dictionary REF PN1993 .45 B49 2001

Dictionary of Film Terms REF PN1993 .45 B33 2006

Filmmaker's Dictionary REF PN1993 .45 S56 2000

The Cinema Book REF PN1994 .C489 1999

Film and Television: A Guide to the Reference Literature REF PN1994.M9 E47 2006

General Film Encyclopedias

Film Encyclopedia REF PN1993.45 .K34 1979

The Queer Encyclopedia of Film and Television REF PN1590.G39 Q44 2005

Encyclopedia of Early Cinema REF PN1993.45 .E53 2005

Biographical Resources

Film, Literature and Drama

International Guide to Literature on Film REF PN1997.85 .I59 1994

Complete Index to Literary Sources in Film REF PN1997.85 .G64 1999

Encyclopedia of Novels into Film REF PN1997.85 .T54 2005

Encyclopedia of Stage Plays into Film REF PN1997.85 .T544 2001

© 2015. LBIS, Kenyon College
103 College Drive, Gambier, OH 43022-9624
Tel: (740) 427-5186