This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Kenyon College

 

Film Resources: Finding Books

Finding Books

CONSORT is the shared catalog of the Kenyon, Denison, Ohio Wesleyan, and Wooster libraries.

OhioLINK includes the collections of 85 libraries throughout Ohio.

Kenyon students, faculty, and staff may request materials from other CONSORT or OhioLINK libraries. If you are unable to find an item in CONSORT or OhioLINK, try WorldCat, which contains the holdings of over 9,000 institutions worldwide. To request an item found in WorldCat, use Interlibrary Loan.

When using keyword searches, either in library catalogs or in article indexes/databases, keep in mind that there are many different ways to write about film--"moving pictures," "motion pictures," "movies," "cinema," etc.--and many different ways to study it--for example, by looking at national cinemas, or through the lens of genre studies, or with various other theoretical approaches (history, auteur theory, reception/spectatorship studies, etc.).

Finding Articles

CONSORT and OhioLINK don't contain information about individual articles within journals and don't always contain information about articles in anthologies or other book-format collections. Search an index or database to find citations to articles or, in many cases, the full text of the articles themselves.

When you've identified a promising article, check CONSORT or OhioLINK to determine which library holds the journal that you need. (Remember to search by the journal title, not the title of the article.) If Kenyon doesn't own the journal or it isn't available online, use Interlibrary Loan.

Modern Languages Association Bibliography (MLA)
Citations to scholarly work in literature, linguistics, film, and folklore worldwide. Sources include journal and book articles, dissertations, monographs, and series.

Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
Covers the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The databases indexes 270 titles completely and an additional 300 selectively.

Film Literature Index
Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly and critical to the popular. (1976-2001)

Humanities International Complete
A comprehensive database covering 1700 journals, as well as books and reference sources in the humanities.

OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center
Includes the full text of hundreds of arts and humanities journals, such as the following film-related titles:

  • Camera Obscura
  • Cinema Journal
  • Journal of Popular Culture
  • Journal of Visual Culture
  • Moving Image
  • Wide Angle

JSTOR
Provides access to the full content of a variety of scholarly journals. Coverage generally begins with volume one of a journal, and ends 2-5 years before the current year. Journals may be browsed or searched.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1990 - )
Indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

Academic Search Complete
This database provides full-text access to scholarly publications from nearly all areas of academic study.

© 2015. LBIS, Kenyon College
103 College Drive, Gambier, OH 43022-9624
Tel: (740) 427-5186