This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Kenyon College

 

Film Resources: Genres

General Texts

Encyclopedia of the Documentary Film (3 volumes) REF PN1995.9.D6 E53 2006

The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction Movies REF PN1995.9.S26 H38 2001

The Encyclopedia of War Movies REF PN1995.9.W3 D38 2004

The Encyclopedia of Westerns REF PN1995.9.W4 F27 2002

The Great Hollywood Musical Pictures REF PN1995.9.M86 P37 1992

Historical Dictionary of the Broadway Musical REF ML102 .M88 E94 2008

Film Noir

Keaney, Michael F. Film Noir Guide. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, c2003. Call Number: REF PN1995.9.F54 K43 2003

Silver, Alain, ed. Film noir : the encyclopedia. New York: Overlook Duckworth, 2010. Call Number: PN1995.9.F54 F68 2010

Spicer, Andrew. Historical dictionary of film noir. Lanham: Scarecrow Press, 2010. Call Number: PN1995.9.F54 S685 2010

Gay and Lesbian Film

Benshoff, Harry. Queer images: a history of gay and lesbian film in America. Lanham, Md.: Rowman & Littlefield, c2006.  PN1995.9.H55 B44 2006

Handley, William, ed. The Brokeback book : from story to cultural phenomenon. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, c2011.  Consort Resource

Porter, Darwin and Danforth Prince. Blood Moon's guide to gay and lesbian film. 2nd edition. New York: Blood Moon Productions. 2007.  Electronic Resource

Women's Studies

Waters, Melanie, ed. Women on screen: feminism and femininity in visual culture. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2011.  Consort Resource

© 2015. LBIS, Kenyon College
103 College Drive, Gambier, OH 43022-9624
Tel: (740) 427-5186