This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Kenyon College

 

Collection Development Policy: Philosophy

Liaison

Karen Greever's picture
Karen Greever
Contact:
Reference Desk:
Mon: 1pm - 3pm
Thur: 1pm - 3pm
Also available by appointment
1-740-427-5420
Website / Blog Page

Philosophy Collection Development Policy

GENERAL PURPOSE

The Collection Development Policy of the Philosophy Department for the Kenyon College Library supports broad undergraduate instructional needs as well as the research needs of the faculty within the context of an undergraduate institution in all major areas of philosophy and the history of philosophy. Our policy also involves contributing to the development of a general Philosophy collection for the CONSORT libraries. Kenyon's Philosophy Department teaches both the Anglo-American and continental European philosophical traditions, and those are the areas that are emphasized in collecting. The emphasis of the collection is on modern Western philosophy, but there are also strong holdings in Ancient, Medieval, and Eastern philosophy. The collection overlaps somewhat with the interests of the interdisciplinary Neuroscience Department, particularly in terms of the study of consciousness and mind. Logic, philosophy of science, philosophy of language, ethics, epistemology, and phenomenology have been and will likely remain areas of strong interest. The scope of the undergraduate program as well as the strong research interests of the faculty in all traditional areas require that a research level of collection be maintained for most subjects. Members of the faculty publish regularly at a high level. Furthermore, publications that are technically labeled as philosophy cover such a wide range of subject areas that the collection is regularly used by the College community at large.

GENERAL SUBJECT BOUNDARIES

The Philosophy Department has research and teaching interests that are broadly based, including the following areas: logic, symbolic logic, ethics, aesthetics, existentialism, epistemology, ancient philosophy, medieval philosophy, modern philosophy, nineteenth-century philosophy, Asian philosophy, philosophy of science, philosophy of social science, philosophy of religion, philosophy of mind, philosophy of perception, philosophy of art, philosophy of language, political philosophy, phenomenology, and metaphysics. The library must keep, maintain, and improve the circulating and reference collections across a wide range of philosophical topics.

TYPES OF MATERIALS COLLECTED

Monographs, serials, videos, bibliographies, biographies, and histories related to the study of philosophy are collected. Of these, serials (including online journals) and monographs are most frequently used. Generally, there is little material related to philosophy that would be excluded from the collection.

FORMAT OF MATERIALS COLLECTED

Although mostly confined to the traditional format of books and serials, publication in philosophy is beginning to see new directions in the form of microform and multimedia CD-ROM as well as online databases. Various electronic information resources related to philosophy are becoming more widely available, and these resources are being collected as appropriate.

LANGUAGES

Works in western philosophy are purchased in their original language and in English translation. Eastern philosophy, when purchased, is purchased in translation. Critical and secondary materials are purchased in all western languages, with particular emphasis on English, French, German, and, to a lesser extent, Italian. The greatest stress is placed on English, American, German, and French critical editions, commentaries, and secondary works.

GEOGRAPHICAL AREAS

Predominantly Western European and North American publishers.

CHRONOLOGICAL SCOPE

The chronological scope of the collection extends from Ancient Greece and Rome through medieval to contemporary Western Europe and United States. We attempt to collect a large number of current North American and British university press monographs, as well as new critical editions and commentaries in appropriate languages. We purchase retrospectively as opportunities present themselves and circumstances permit. We buy out-of-print titles and microfilm on a case-by-case basis.

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS AND MANUSCRIPTS

None at this time.

OTHER RESOURCES AVAILABLE

Library users have access to the circulating materials in the collections of CONSORT and OhioLINK.

CREATION DATE AND REVISION HISTORY

Julie Buchsbaum, Librarian and Technology Consultant, wrote a policy draft in January 2003; this was revised by Professor Joel Richeimer, Chair of the Philosophy Department, in May 2003. Current version approved May 2003.

LC CLASS

B, BC, BD, BH, BJ

© 2015. LBIS, Kenyon College
103 College Drive, Gambier, OH 43022-9624
Tel: (740) 427-5186