This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Kenyon College

 

Collection Development Policy: MLL : Italian

Liaison

Karen Greever's picture
Karen Greever
Contact:
Reference Desk:
Mon: 1pm - 3pm
Thur: 1pm - 3pm
Also available by appointment
1-740-427-5420
Website / Blog Page

MLL : Italian Collection Development Policy

GENERAL PURPOSE

The Italian language and literature collection supports the teaching programs and research needs of students and faculty of the Italian section of the MLL department. The focus is on Dante, Renaissance literature and modern Italian literature, culture and cinema. Materials in art, folklore, and history are also purchased.

GENERAL SUBJECT BOUNDARIES

The focus of collection development is on medieval, Renaissance and modern literary works in the original and in translation. We are working to acquire critical editions of major 19th and 20th century Italian writers, as well as earlier texts that are central to the development of Western though, .e.g, Machiavelli, and translations of Dante’s work. We also acquire secondary works on Italian literature, film and culture, primarily in English.

TYPES OF MATERIALS COLLECTED

Monographs and a selection of periodicals constitute the core of the collection. Standard reference works dedicated to all periods of Italian cultural history are routinely collected.

FORMAT OF MATERIALS COLLECTED

Print materials make up the bulk of the collection, although audiovisual materials, especially films, are also acquired.

LANGUAGES

Italian is the primary language of the collection; English is the secondary language.

GEOGRAPHICAL AREAS

The collection emphasizes Italian language works published in Italy, the United States, and Europe. The collection includes critical works and translations published in the United States and Europe.

CHRONOLOGICAL GUIDELINES

Medieval to present.

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS AND MANUSCRIPTS

Holdings include: 18th century Storia della letteratura italiana and Petrarch’s Triumphi from 1481.

OTHER RESOURCES AVAILABLE

CONSORT and OhioLINK increase our access to less commonly-used materials. Students and faculty also make use of ILL for their research.

CREATION DATE AND REVISION HISTORY

Created January 2008 by Karen Greever, in consulation with Patricia Lyn Richards.

LC CLASS

PQ

© 2015. LBIS, Kenyon College
103 College Drive, Gambier, OH 43022-9624
Tel: (740) 427-5186