This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Kenyon College

 

Collection Development Policy: History

Liaison

History Collection Development Policy

GENERAL PURPOSE

The library plays an important role in meeting the history department's goals for its majors. Library-related goals include an expectation to engage in research both broadly and in-depth, learn about world cultures, and to explore events that occurred well before recent times. Majors are also introduced to the theory and practice of how historians go about their work, using the library as their laboratory.

In addition, the library supports faculty research and scholarship needs within the context of an undergraduate institution through monograph, serials, and microforms purchases, the provision of access to databases and other electronic resources, and through OhioLINK borrowing privileges.

Resource acquisition should be guided by departmental goals for students, courses taught, and by faculty needs.

GENERAL SUBJECT BOUNDARIES

Subjects covered by the department include continental and national histories; periods of history, ranging from late Antiquity through the Modern era; and major themes, such as diasporas, gender, race, resistance and revolution, reform movements, representations of history through film and literature, and changing patterns in the realm of thought.

TYPES OF MATERIALS COLLECTED

Many types of primary and secondary materials are collected. Examples include monographs, analytical syntheses, narratives, autobiographies, biographies,

volumes of correspondence, newspapers, novels, government documents, and translations.

FORMAT OF MATERIALS COLLECTED

Formats collected include monographs, serials, microfilm, video, atlases, databases, and maps. However, no format is formally excluded.

LANGUAGES

English-language materials comprise the bulk of the collection and the majority of purchases. However, materials in other languages (e.g., German) are ordered as appropriate.

GEOGRAPHICAL AREAS

Geographical areas emphasized within the department are Africa, the Americas, Asia, and Europe.

CHRONOLOGICAL GUIDELINES

There are no chronological restrictions.

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS AND MANUSCRIPTS

The Kenyon Archives contain significant resources regarding the history of the College as well as resources pertaining to the history of the Village of Gambier.

OTHER RESOURCES AVAILABLE

CONSORT and OhioLINK are important resources that significantly expand our library. Online resources such as the Library of Congress web site and the National Archives web site expand access to historical materials.

CREATION DATE AND REVISION HISTORY

Created and approved Summer 2002 by the History Department and departmental liaison Megan Fitch. Revised Summer 2010 by the History Department and their liaison, Nina Clements.

LC CLASS

C, D, E, F, G, H, K

© 2015. LBIS, Kenyon College
103 College Drive, Gambier, OH 43022-9624
Tel: (740) 427-5186