This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Kenyon College

 

Collection Development Policy: MLL : Japanese

Liaison

Karen Greever's picture
Karen Greever
Contact:
Reference Desk:
Mon: 1pm - 3pm
Thur: 1pm - 3pm
Also available by appointment
1-740-427-5420
Website / Blog Page

MLL : Japanese Collection Development Policy

GENERAL PURPOSE

The Japanese language and literature collection supports the teaching programs and research needs of students and faculty of the Japanese section of the MLL department. The focus is on language learning, linguistics, and culture.

GENERAL SUBJECT BOUNDARIES

The focus of collection development is on language learning. We acquire some texts in Japanese and some in translation. We also acquire secondary works on Japanese literature and culture, primarily in English.

TYPES OF MATERIALS COLLECTED

Monographs constitute the core of the collection. Standard reference works are routinely collected.

FORMAT OF MATERIALS COLLECTED

Print materials make up the bulk of the collection, although audiovisual materials are also acquired.

LANGUAGES

Japanese and English

GEOGRAPHICAL AREAS

Japan

CHRONOLOGICAL GUIDELINES

Primarily modern, with some editions of classic works.

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS AND MANUSCRIPTS

Does not currently contain materials relating to Japanese as an academic discipline.

OTHER RESOURCES AVAILABLE

CONSORT and OhioLINK increase our access to less commonly-used materials. Students and faculty also make use of ILL for their research.

CREATION DATE AND REVISION HISTORY

Created October 2007 [Karen Greever, in consulation with Hideo Tomita]

LC CLASS

PL

© 2015. LBIS, Kenyon College
103 College Drive, Gambier, OH 43022-9624
Tel: (740) 427-5186