This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Kenyon College

 

Collection Development Policy: MLL : Chinese

Liaison

Karen Greever's picture
Karen Greever
Contact:
Reference Desk:
Mon: 1pm - 3pm
Thur: 1pm - 3pm
Also available by appointment
1-740-427-5420
Website / Blog Page

MLL : Chinese Collection Development Policy

GENERAL PURPOSE

The Chinese language and literature collection supports the teaching programs and research needs of students and faculty of the Chinese section of the MLL department. The focus is on language learning, linguistics, literature, culture and film.

GENERAL SUBJECT BOUNDARIES

The focus of collection development is on language learning and literary and film studies. We acquire some primary texts in Chinese and mostly in translation. We also acquire secondary works on Chinese literature, culture and film, primarily in English.

TYPES OF MATERIALS COLLECTED

Monographs constitute the core of the collection. Standard reference works are routinely collected.

FORMAT OF MATERIALS COLLECTED

Print materials make up the bulk of the collection. Audiovisual materials are also regularly acquired.

LANGUAGES

Chinese and English

GEOGRAPHICAL AREAS

China

CHRONOLOGICAL GUIDELINES

Primarily modern and late imperial period (after 1368), with some editions of primary and secondary works of Chinese literature and culture before 1368.

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS AND MANUSCRIPTS

Does not currently contain materials relating to Chinese as an academic discipline.

OTHER RESOURCES AVAILABLE

CONSORT and OhioLINK increase our access to less commonly-used materials. Students and faculty also make use of ILL for their research.

CREATION DATE AND REVISION HISTORY

Created October 2007 [Karen Greever, in consulation with Jianhua Bai and Jie Zhang]

LC CLASS

PL

© 2015. LBIS, Kenyon College
103 College Drive, Gambier, OH 43022-9624
Tel: (740) 427-5186