This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Kenyon College

 

Collection Development Policy: MLL : Spanish

Liaison

Karen Greever's picture
Karen Greever
Contact:
Reference Desk:
Mon: 1pm - 3pm
Thur: 1pm - 3pm
Also available by appointment
1-740-427-5420
Website / Blog Page

MLL : Spanish Collection Development Policy

GENERAL PURPOSE

Spanish at Kenyon offers three types of major: Spanish Literature, Spanish Area Studies, and Modem Languages (the latter combines Spanish with one of the other six languages offered in the department). The majority of courses requiring library support are in Spanish and Latin American literature from the 18th Century to the present. Related areas such as contemporary Spanish and Latin American civilization, Spanish and Latin American film, and literary criticism and history are also covered in our advanced courses.

GENERAL SUBJECT BOUNDARIES

The most intensive collection development is of major Spanish and Latin American literary texts and major Spanish and Latin American films. We also acquire secondary works on Spanish and Latin American literature, literary theory, and film criticism, all of which may be in English or Spanish. Related areas of special interest to our faculty and students include history; gender, cultural, post-colonial, and queer studies; linguistics; language acquisition

TYPES OF MATERIALS COLLECTED

Our collection consists primarily of monographs dating back to the nineteenth century, as well as a selection of periodicals, including both journals and newspapers. Major encyclopedias, dictionaries, periodical indexes and bibliographies complement our collection.

FORMAT OF MATERIALS COLLECTED

Printed books, for the circulating collection and for the reference collection, continue to be by far our major area of collection development. We also acquire Spanish language feature films and documentaries, on VHS and DVD. Electronic resources, including books, journals, and databases, are an area of interest as well.

LANGUAGES

Literary works in Spanish are the backbone of our collection. We also acquire English translations of major works, especially poetry. Secondary works and criticism can be either in English or Spanish.

GEOGRAPHICAL AREAS

Spain and Latin America (Mexico, Central America, Caribbean, and Southern Cone).

CHRONOLOGICAL GUIDELINES

For Spain, 16th Century to the present, with some selected coverage extending back to the medieval period. For Latin America, 18th Century to the present. We acquire contemporary works on a more limited basis, using as a guideline the importance of the author on the Spanish literary scene and interest received from contemporary American criticism.

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS AND MANUSCRIPTS

Holdings include: some editions of Spanish and Latin American authors in Spanish or English translation, as well as some 18th century Spanish language works.

OTHER RESOURCES AVAILABLE

CONSORT and OhioLINK increase our access to less commonly-used materials. Students and faculty also make use of ILL for their research.

CREATION DATE AND REVISION HISTORY

Created January 2008 by Karen Greever, in consulation with the Spanish faculty.

LC CLASS

PQ

© 2015. LBIS, Kenyon College
103 College Drive, Gambier, OH 43022-9624
Tel: (740) 427-5186