Role of Print and Electronic Reference Works
Reference works include encyclopedias, research handbooks, and bibliographies. Reference works offer overviews of a topic and help to place it in context. They can be especially useful in providing you with keywords with which to construct your database and catalog searches.
Another advantage: they often include bibliographies of primary and secondary sources.
Reference Works Online
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedia spanning 25 different subject areas.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference sources
- World Book Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Based on the World Book encyclopedia, this collection contains various dictionaries, atlases, encyclopedias, images, maps, videos, timelines, and current news
Selected Print Reference Materials
- The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical LiteratureCall Number: KEN REF D20 .A55 1995 and onlineEssentially, an annotated bibliographyof sources organized by location and historical period. Each section begins with a helpful bibliographic essay.
- Oxford Dictionary of National BiographyCall Number: KEN REF DA28 .O95 2004 (multiple volumes)Biographies from "the earliest times until the year 2000."
- Reader's Guide to British HistoryCall Number: KEN REF DA34 .R43 2003Two-volume reference work with alphabetically organized entries. All entries include bibliographies.
- World War II : the encyclopedia of the war years, 1941-1945Call Number: KEN REF D743.5 .P57 1996
Finding More Reference Books
- CONSORT library catalogCombined catalog of Kenyon, Denison, College of Wooster, and Ohio Wesleyan University Libraries.
Search by general topic to find reference books on your subject. For example, if you are interested in the Battle of Midway during World War II you may use keyword terms such as: world war history, world war dictionar* or world war atlas. Then limit the search with the 'modify' button at the top of the results screen to the Kenyon reference collection.
The majority of reference books do not circulate out of their home library. If you have a question about a reference book not held in our collection, speak with a librarian or look in OhioLINK for a circulating copy.