About Government Information
The U.S. government is the largest publisher in the United States and publishes statistics and other information on a variety of topics.
When researching the federal government, consider the branch or agency involved in your topic: Legislative, Judicial, or Executive (which includes Bureaus and Agencies). For a more detailed explanation, go to the Government Documents guide.
U.S. government documents at Kenyon are typically located in compact shelving on the first floor, near the Chalmers classroom.
British Government Resources
- Hansard, 1803 - presentFreely available database of British parliamentary debates. Based on information from Hansard, the Official Report of debates in Parliament. There's Hansard itself; by volume, just the Lords sittings, Commons sittings or Westminster Hall sittings. You can also view Written Answers, Written Statements, Lords reports or Grand Committee reports. There are also lists of People who are recorded as having spoken, Constituencies, Offices, Acts, Bills and Divisions.
- Parliamentary Papers (UK) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Official publications by the House of Commons and the House of Lords from 1688 to 1900, including sessional papers, journals, private acts, and the official report of debates in Parliament.
Selected Government Information Resources
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Congressional publications and legislative histories. Publications include bills, public laws, and statutes, Daily record, hearings, reports, and executive documents.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Global media reports include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary.
- Homeland Security Digital LibraryElectronic documents made available by the Dudley Knox Library at the Naval Postgraduate School, searchable by keyword or by topic, including general U.S. policy documents, national strategy documents, theses and research papers from the Center for Homeland Defense and Security and the Naval Postgraduate School, and homeland security executive orders. Also includes notices of events and conferences pertaining to homeland security, and news items drawn from various news sources.
- Papers Relating to the Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) (1870-1946)[KEN Main JX233 .A3]
Published by the United States department of State, the FRUS series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. It is an excellent resource for studying US International Relations. The volumes are easily browsed by year and topic. They are also available online.
For more recent volumes: http://consort.library.denison.edu/record=b3786844~S6 - Foreign Relations of the United States, post JFKFrom the Office of the Historian. These are easily downloadable and searchable.
- Congress.govThe Congressional online public access information system. Provides access to full-text legislation, public laws, the Congressional Record, committee reports, roll call votes, floor activities, committee schedules, selected historical documents, etc.
- American Presidency ProjectFrom the University of California, Santa Barbara, this resource includes primary documents as well as media.
Selected Statistical Information
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. historical data and statistics. Tables may be graphed, customized, and downloaded.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) 1878-2012 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In print, the Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Online it is 1400+ individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets), both searchable and browsable.