All Databases
- Databases A-ZThe list of over 330 databases available at Kenyon. Databases will include journal articles, books, primary source materials, streaming video, art images, and more.
Many of our databases provide links to full-text access to articles. These links may connect you to JSTOR, OhioLINK's Electronic Journal Center, or Ebscohost collections of articles. The more databases you search, the more expansive your search results may be. But remember, there are some databases dedicated to specific topics, for example, the English, literature, humanities, and popular culture databases which are listed in the next column.
Finding Book Reviews
- Book Review DigestReference Z1219 .C96
1905-1995 - Book Review IndexREF Z1035.A1 B6
1965-Present - New York Times Book ReviewMost recent 2 months are in the Current Periodical Section; otherwise go to the microfilm cabinets.
1851-Present
- Readers' Guide Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, 1983 to present.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation search for articles from popular magazines, including Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, from 1890-1982.
- Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Times (London) Literary Supplement from 1902-2019. An archive to the cultural revolutions of the last 100 years, with views of influential opinion-makers, the response of their peers, the controversies of the day and how they developed.
English Language and Literature Resources
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations for books and articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage from early 20th century-present.
The MLA International Bibliography is a great place to start for all of your literature and language research papers. If full-text article access is available, the database provides a link to the articles. Full-text access may be provided by JSTOR, OhioLINK's Electronic Journal Center, Ebscohost, or another provider.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly journals and articles mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic journal articles and books: primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Each journal has a “moving wall” for article access (time lag between the most current issue and the content at JSTOR)
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, multi-disciplinary collection of scholarly journals, ebooks, proceedings, and newspapers covering all academic areas of study.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford DNB is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.
General Humanities Resources
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Citations for articles in Arts and Humanities journals from 1975-present. Also includes with citation analysis tools.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, and other publications in all aspects of the humanities worldwide.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Citations for articles, essays, books, and reviews covering the Medieval and Renaissance (400-1700) periods
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly journals and articles mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
Arts and Popular Culture Resources
- Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, movie reviews, and images related to film and television.
- Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source collection of crime-related materials, including court proceedings, forensic documents, true crime literature, and newspaper accounts and show how the justice system evolved in the 19th century.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference works related to all aspects of Music, including articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly art encyclopedia covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present, with entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, as well as scholarly articles and bibliographies.