E-Book Collections
A sample list of the ebook collections of literature, other titles from the humanities, and more. To see all of our subscriptions, go to our guide of Primary Sources Guide on Ebooks/Ejournals.
-
ACLS Humanities E-Books This link opens in a new windowACLS Humanities E-Books is a collection of approximately 4,680 books of high quality in the humanities offered by the ACLS in collaboration with thirty-one learned societies, over 100 contributing publishers. These are works of major importance that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.
-
eBook Collection on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Collection of ebooks published prior to 2005, covering a variety of academic subjects. Create a personal account to download content to a device.
-
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Large collection eBooks in almost every academic subject area. You must create a free account to be able to download a complete ebook.
-
OhioLINK Electronic Book Center This link opens in a new window
Thousands of scholarly and reference e-books covering the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
-
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Collection of ebooks on a broad range of scholarly subject areas.
-
Project GutenbergCollection of over 75,000 free e-books.
-
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly journals and articles mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
Online Digital Collections
A sampling of poetry web sites & digital collections.
-
British Women Romantic Poets, 1789-1832Collection hosted by the University of California, Davis
-
Modern American PoetryHosted by the Department of English, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
-
Poets.OrgHosted by the Academy of American Poets
-
Walt Whitman ArchivePublished by the Center for Digital Research in the Humanities at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln.
-
William Blake ArchiveAn international public resource that provides unified access to major works for visual and literary art by William Blake.
Pre-20th Century Literature Collections
-
American Drama This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 700 plays of American dramatic literature
-
British Literary Manuscripts This link opens in a new window
Images of British literary manuscripts, including letters, diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works. Coverage from the medieval time period to 1900.
-
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Large collection of digitized English literature books originally printed in the British Isles and North America from 1473-1700.
-
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare This link opens in a new window
Complete text of eleven major editions of Shakespeare's works, printings of individual plays, and many adaptations, sequels and burlesques.
-
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Digitized books,essays, and pamphlets from the 1700s in English
-
Eighteenth Century FictionProvides the complete text of 96 works of prose fiction written in the British Isles between 1700 and 1780.
-
English Prose Drama 1280-1915 This link opens in a new window
Full text of English plays, including any accompanying text written by the author. Contains works from the Renaissance to the end of the 19th century.
-
Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window
Women’s literary works in the early modern period, from 1526-1850. Texts are of verse, drama, fiction, and non-fiction.
-
Early American Fiction This link opens in a new window
Full text of American novels and short stories from 1774-1850.
20th Century to Present Literature & Poetry
-
William Butler Yeats Collection (via American & English Literature) This link opens in a new window
A complete collection of William Butler Yeats work, including 22 printed volumes, critical and fictional prose, poetry, plays, and autobiographical works.
Pre-20th Century Poetry
-
African American Poetry 1700-1900 This link opens in a new window
Poems and prose by African American poets with topics including: abolition, children, civil rights, education, fugitive slave law, Indian raids, liberty, prejudice, and slavery.
-
American Poetry 1600-1900 This link opens in a new window
Poems by American writers from the 17th to the early 20th century. Any accompanying text written by the original author is included if available.
-
English Poetry 600 - 1900 This link opens in a new window
Full text of thousands of poems by poets from British Commonwealth and ex-colonial countries, between the years 600 and 1900. Works in English of Welsh, Scottish, and Irish poets are also included.
20th Century to Present Poetry
-
20th Century African American Poetry This link opens in a new window
Poems by more than 100 African-American poets from 1900-2000. Biographical profiles accompany each poet's work.
-
20th Century American Poetry This link opens in a new window
Poetry covering the works of most major twentieth-century American poets. The collection includes all the major poetry movements and schools.
-
20th Century English Poetry This link opens in a new window
Poetry collection by English poets from the twentieth century. Introductions, prefaces, notes, prose sections, and images are included.