Law reviews and journals
Law reviews are a form of scholarship that is unique to legal research, though analogous to scholarly articles in other disciplines. Most law journals are available through specific databases, some of which are linked below:
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowTo search the extensive law journal content only, click on the 'Search By Content Type' menu above the search bar and select 'Law Reviews'.
- Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text and article citation information on law and legal topics from 1965-present
- JSTOR - Law JournalsJSTOR contains full text content from over 800 law reviews and journals which are browseable by title from this link.
- HeinOnline: Government, Politics & Law This link opens in a new window
Full text documents on legal history, case law, world trials, U.S. government, congressional reports, and other government documents.
HeinOnline themed collections
- Civil Rights and Social Justice Collection (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
Articles, hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislation, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights.
- LGBTQ+ Rights (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
Collection charting the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries as well as documenting current inequalities that still exist today.
Social science literature
Research in the social sciences can be quite interdisciplinary even without the inclusion of legal topics. Below are some useful databases for literature searching in the social sciences.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles, conference proceedings, and other publications in sociology, from 1908-present
- Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Citation search for publications in the social sciences with citation analysis tools.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, multi-disciplinary collection of scholarly journals, ebooks, proceedings, and newspapers covering all academic areas of study.
- Annual Review of Law and Social ScienceThe Annual Review of Law and Social Science, published since 2005, attempts to enhance the understanding of the complex connections between law, culture, social structure, and society by focusing on social scientific studies of law and law-like systems of rules, institutions, processes, and behaviors.
Statistics and datasets
These are only a handful of available resources for statistics and data related to socio-legal research. More resources can be found on the Data & Statistics Resources guide, and you can always reach out to the libraries for further guidance regarding statistics and data resources.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowGeneral source of statistics on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources categorized into 21 market sectors.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) 1878-2012 This link opens in a new windowAnnual comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Coverage includes from 1970 to present.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowProvides current and historical census information in a highly visual format.
- Sage Data This link opens in a new windowProvides original datasets with customizable graphs and tables in which users can scan the contents, select subjects and variables of interest and view the data in side-by-side tables and charts.
- ICPSR - Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new windowAccess to specialized data sets in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
- World DataBank This link opens in a new windowAnalysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of economics topics.
- US Census data portal: data.census.govThe data.census.gov site provides easy to access to aggregate data on population, housing, economic and geographic information from several censuses and surveys.
- United Nations (UN) Data portalSearch over 30 UN statistical databases in one place. Also includes portal of links to official country data services from around the world.