Supreme Court resources
- Supreme Court of the United StatesOfficial site of the US Supreme Court provides page image versions of the latest opinions back to 1991. Also official court rules, docket information and other related materials.
- Oyez ProjectThis unique grant funded and publicly available resource provides audio files for select oral arguments and decisions argued before the U.S. Supreme Court.
- Supreme Court DatabaseDatabase containing information about each case decided by the Court between the 1791 and 2022 terms. Examples include: the identity of the court whose decision the Supreme Court reviewed, the parties to the suit, the legal provisions considered in the case, and the votes of the Justices.
Other US federal & state law
Case law
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
One of the leading information providers for case law. Click on the 'Search by Subject or Topic' drop down menu and select 'Legal - Federal and State Cases' and then click on the Advanced Options menu to select which jurisdictions to search.
- Justia - Case LawOne of the leading proponents of making case law freely available on the internet for all, Justia contains full text case law from the US Supreme Court level down to state court level.
- Google ScholarGoogle's specialized search tool for academic journal articles also contains extensive case law coverage. Select the 'Case law' option to reveal further advanced search possibilities.
- National Center for State Courts (NCSC)The NCSC portal to State Court Websites provides convenient links to official sites of court resources for all 50 states.
- PACERThe federal government's online system for providing public access to electronic records of the courts. It includes most associated paperwork with court cases not necessarily reported in case decisions and opinions. This database does require registration and charges small fees for searching to maintain itself.
Legislation
- GovInfoGovInfo (formerly known as FDsys) is maintained by the Government Printing Office (GPO) and is the official source for online freely available authenticated information from the executive, congressional, and judicial branches of government.
- Congress.govThe official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Broad database of US Congressional publications including Bills & Laws, Congressional Record Daily and Bound Editions, CRS Reports, Committee Prints, Hearings (Published & Unpublished), House & Senate Reports and Documents and other US Serial Set materials. Also includes congressional members and committees records and demographics, regulatory action and political news search capability. - CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences.
- Legal Information Institute (LII)Hosted by Cornell University, the independent Legal Information Institute is a "go to" site for regularly updated U.S. Code and U.S. Supreme Court Decisions among other resources.
- Justia - Codes & StatutesIn addition to distributing previously unavailable case law to the public via the internet, Justia also provides full text searching capability for U.S. code and codes and statutes for all 50 states.
- Law Library Microform Consortium (LLMC) Open Access materialsThough the bulk of the LLMC's materials are subscription-only, a selection of their federal and state level legislative materials are freely available.
Administrative law & regulations
- The White House Briefing RoomThis 'Briefing Room' menu includes links to weekly addresses, speeches and remarks, statements, actions, legislation, nominations and appointments, and disclosures.
- A-Z Index of US Government AgenciesComprehensive collection of links to federal government departments and agencies.
- Regulations.govProvides public users access to federal regulatory content including the ability to search all publicly available regulatory materials, posted public comments, supporting analyses, FR notices, and rules.
- Administrative DecisionsThis collection of links maintained by the University of Virginia Libraries directs users to the sites of federal agencies where any official regulatory decisions may be reported and distributed online if available.
- Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (eCFR)While not an official legal edition of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), the eCFR provides a daily updated compilation of CFR materials and Federal Register amendments.
Local & municipal law
- American Legal Publishing Code LibraryLegal publisher providing freely available access to many municipal level codes at the state and local levels.
- Municode LibraryLegal publisher which contracts to provide free online access to various municipal level codes across the United States.
Foreign & international law
- GlobaLexAn electronic legal publication dedicated to international and foreign law research. Published by the Hauser Global Law School Program at NYU School of Law, GlobaLex is committed to the dissemination of high-level international, foreign, and comparative law research tools.
- United Nations (UN) DocumentsOfficial documents portal for the United Nations that includes links to their Official Document System (ODS) and the UN Digital Library.
- UN Documents Research GuideAn official guide to available UN documents and publications.
- World Constitutions IllustratedA subset of HeinOnline, this resource contains text of constitutions and fundamental laws, commentaries, scholarly articles, bibliographies, and other relevant materials all browsable by country.
- European Union (EU) LawThe official European Union page explaining the mechanics of EU law, it also links to more detailed research guides and original law sources.