Political Science research guide
Welcome!
This guide is intended to help students in PSCI courses, or engaged in Political Science research, in locating useful resources. These include commercial resources provided by the library and made available to the Kenyon community as well as Political Science resources freely available on the web.
As the library liaison to Political Science and International Studies, I'm happy to help you navigate your research related inquiries. Feel free to call, email, or click on the purple button (in my profile box) to arrange an appointment.
Getting started
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis written by journalists on issues in the news. Includes pro/con debates and current "hot topics"
-
AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
Search platform for a multitude of primary source collections spanning the 15th-21st centuries. It includes collections spanning the social sciences and humanities.
PSCI reference resources
Reference resources, like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks, are a great way of exploring possible areas of research interest or refining your existing research topic:
-
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Politics
by
Publication Date: 2014- -
Global Encyclopedia of Public Administration, Public Policy, and Governance
by
Publication Date: 2023 -
The Palgrave Encyclopedia of Interest Groups, Lobbying and Public Affairs
by
Publication Date: 2022 -
The Palgrave Encyclopedia of Imperialism and Anti-Imperialism
by
Publication Date: 2021
-
Credo Reference - Political ScienceLinks to 78 political science reference book titles provided via the Credo Reference platform and including The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science, The Essentials of Global Politics, Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations, and Public Opinion and Polling Around the World: A Historical Encyclopedia.
