Research Guides: Political Science Resources: Statistics and Public Opinion

PSCI data/stats resources

ICPSR - Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
Access to specialized data sets in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Statista
General source of statistics on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources categorized into 21 market sectors.
Sage Data
Provides original datasets with customizable graphs and tables in which users can scan the contents, select subjects and variables of interest and view the data in side-by-side tables and charts.
World DataBank
Analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of economics topics.

United Nations (UN) Data portal
Search over 30 UN statistical databases in one place. Also includes portal of links to official country data services from around the world.
Varieties of Democracy
The Varieties of Democracy Project (V-Dem) is an ambitious international effort to produce new indicators of democracy for all countries since 1900. With measures of democracy in great demand, V-Dem provides the global community with the world’s most comprehensive, accurate, and detailed democracy ratings.

Social Explorer
Provides current and historical census information in a highly visual format.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) 1878-2012
Annual comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Coverage includes from 1970 to present.

US Census data portal: data.census.gov
The data.census.gov site provides easy to access to aggregate data on population, housing, economic and geographic information from several censuses and surveys.
Vote View
Allows users to view every congressional roll call vote in American history on a map of the United States and on a liberal-conservative ideological map including information about the ideological positions of voting Senators and Representatives.
The State of the States
A comprehensive databank of information on U.S. states, including a short summary introducing the state. In the ‘State Profile’ view you can find out information like who the state’s Governor is, who controls what parts of the state’s government, and information on state policies like marijuana legalisation, and even the state’s credit rating.
Comparative Agendas Datasets
Collects and organizes data from various archived sources to trace changes in the national policy agenda and public policy outcomes of the United States since the Second World War.

Roper Center Public Opinion Archives (with iPOLL)
Thousands of U.S. and international survey datasets. Sign-in to download data sets and do analyses.

American National Election Studies Data Center
A joint effort of multiple high-profile academic research institutions, the ANES produced data on voting, public opinion, and political participation.

GSS Data Explorer
Data analysis tool that contains all the datasets from the GSS (General Social Survey) from 1972-present. You must create an account if you want to save variables, analyses, or visualizations.

Social Explorer
Interactive data maps of United States demographic information from the U.S. Census Bureau from 1790-present.

US Census data portal: data.census.gov
The data.census.gov site provides easy to access to aggregate data on population, housing, economic and geographic information from several censuses and surveys.