Chat with Us
Related Subject Areas
Finding Literary Background Information
Use these resources to find author biographies, critical essays, histories, and other general background information.
- Dictionary of Literary BiographyProvides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
- Literary Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia containing profiles of authors, works and literary and historical topics with coverage of English, American, Canadian, German, Russian and other literature.
- Literary Reference Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides plot summaries, articles of literary criticism, full text of literary journals, author biographies, book reviews, author interviews, and images of key literary figures.
- Primary Sources: LiteratureList of primary source materials available to the Kenyon community.
- Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains book reviews, arts reviews, poems, letters and commentary pieces.
Literature Research
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations for books and articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage from early 20th century-present.
The MLA International Bibliography is a great place to start for all of your literature and language research papers.
Humanities Resources
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Citations for articles in Arts and Humanities journals from 1975-present. Also includes with citation analysis tools.
Try using these databases to find articles and other resources related to the study of the humanities.
- FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
French language citation search covering the humanities, sciences, and social sciences from 1972 to 2015. Citations include articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, and other publications in all aspects of the humanities worldwide.
Other Resources
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, multi-disciplinary collection of scholarly journals, ebooks, proceedings, and newspapers covering all academic areas of study.
Try using these suggested databases to find articles on other popular areas of study. If this list is not helpful, peruse our complete list of Databases A-Z.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals and articles about decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, 1995-present.
- Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, movie reviews, and images related to film and television.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and some full text for scholarly articles related to gender and sexuality from 1972-present.
