Electronic Dance Reference
- Ballet Dictionary (American Ballet Theatre)Online Dictionary from the Ballet Theatre Foundation
The encyclopedia of world ballet by ISBN: 9781442245266Publication Date: 2015surveys the emergence of ballet from ancient Asian models to the present, providing overviews of rhythmic movement as a subject of art, photography, and cinema.
The Oxford Dictionary of Dance by ISBN: 9780199563449Publication Date: 2010-09-10covers all aspects of the diverse dance world from classical ballet to modern, from flamenco to hip-hop, from tap to South Asian dance forms and includes detailed entries on technical terms, steps, styles, works and countries, in addition to many biographies of dancers, choreographers, and companies.
Dance on Its Own Terms by ISBN: 9780199939992Publication Date: 2013-01-01a wide range of subjects examined from dance-centered methodologies: modes of research that are emergent, based in relevant systems of movement analysis, use primary sources, and rely on critical, informed observation of movement.
Emerging Bodies by ISBN: 9783839415962Publication Date: 2014-04-27The concept of »worldmaking« is based on the idea that the world is not given, but rather produced through language, actions, ideas and perception. This collection of essays takes a closer look at various hybrid and disparate worlds related to dance and choreography.
Choreography Observed by ISBN: 1587290065Publication Date: 1997-03-01Jack Anderson essays and reviews have appeared in daily newspapers, specialist monthlies, and critical quarterlies.
Newer Dance, Drama, Film Titles
- CONSORTCombined catalog of Kenyon, Denison, College of Wooster, and Ohio Wesleyan University Libraries.
- OhioLINK Library CatalogFeeling a bit limited with Consort? Search and request from the academic book catalogs across the state of Ohio.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowCan't find what you need in K-Search, Consort, Ohiolink, or the Databases? Try Worldcat! Locate books, journals and magazines, music scores, archival materials, and media in libraries worldwide. Use Interlibrary Loan to request what you find.
-
Gather a list of useful words or terms from lecture notes and/or assigned readings to begin your research in the CONSORT/OhiolinkK-Search web catalog and online journal indexes. Books owned by other Consort libraries may be requested and will be sent here in 3-4 working days. If you cannot locate materials on your subject or all of the CONSORT copies are checked out, you should search the Ohiolink online card catalog for additional materials. Books, and some bound volumes of journals, may be requested from the Ohiolink catalog using your barcode on the back of your student ID.
- Interlibrary Loan requests, for journal articles or books not in Consort or Ohiolink, may be filled out using our online form, if you need assistance filling out the form based on a citation you found or have a question about a journal abbreviation, etc. just stop by the information desk or watch this Middle Path Minute on Interlibrary Loan for assistance.
- Suggestion: Begin your research using simple WORD searches and take notes on the various subject headings in the results list for books you find. If you prefer to use proper SUBJECT HEADING searches, consult the Library of Congress Subject Classification system at the LOC website. Subject headings often carry over for use in journal indexes and so it is useful to keep a running list of terms you glean from databases and indexes.
-
- example WORD search for books:
- example SAMPLE SUBJECT HEADING search for books:
- Choreographers--Biography
- Choreographers -- United States -- Biography
