In CONSORT
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by Call Number: Mulitmedia ML100 .G16 1998 / CDR Garland 1ISBN: 0824060350Publication Date: 1997-08-01
The World Music by Call Number: REF ML102.W67 W67 2006ISBN: 9781843535515Publication Date: 2006-10-30
Databases and Websites
- British Library Sound ArchiveA small selection of recordings held in the British Library
- Echoes of AfricaThis site concentrates on the traditional musical instruments of Africa. Descriptions are brief, some sections include photographs of instruments.
- Jewish Music WebCenterAn online forum for academic, organizational, and individual activities in Jewish music. Information is provided to encourage and support scholarship, enjoyment, creation and general knowledge of Jewish music.
- Sing Out! Resource CenterA multi-media collection of recordings, books, periodicals, photos and ephemera covering the folk music revival from the 1940s through to the present day.
- Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies.
Anthems, Carols, & Song Books
- The Penguin Book of LiederREF ML54.6.P75 P5 1964
- Word-By-Word Translations of Songs and AriasREF ML54.6 .W65
Encyclopedia of National Anthems by ISBN: 0810848473Publication Date: 2003-09-22From Afghanistan to Zimbabwe, this exhaustive reference source is an up-to-date collection of national anthems from most of the 192 sovereign countries in the world.
The New Oxford Book of Carols by ISBN: 0193533235Publication Date: 1992-11-05Edited by early music experts Hugh Keyte and Andrew Parrott, this anthology of Christmas carols is the most comprehensive collection ever made, spanning seven centuries of caroling in Britain, continental Europe, and North America.
The Spanish Song Companion by ISBN: 9780810857490Publication Date: 2006-05-08The Spanish Song Companion is an introduction to the rich heritage of Spanish song, providing the texts of over 300 songs with parallel translations in accurate and readable English.
