Guides to Literature
- Bibliography of American Literature This link opens in a new window
An ebook guide containing records of the literary works of American writers from the American Revolution to 1930.
- English Short Title CatalogueFreely available resource lists 460,000 items published between 1473 and 1800. Describes works printed in any language in England or its dependencies from the beginning of printing through the end of the eighteenth century, as well as works printed in English anywhere else in the world during that period.
Found on the Internet
- PlayShakespeare.comA completely free Shakespeare resource.
- Understanding ShakespeareCollaborative project with JSTOR and the Folger Shakespeare Library.
Find a Book in the Chalmers Stacks Using Call Numbers
Helpful Tutorials
Library Catalog: CONSORT
- CONSORTCombined catalog of Kenyon, Denison, College of Wooster, and Ohio Wesleyan University Libraries.
Reference Resources
Reference tools such as biographies, bibliographies, and encyclopedias can provide useful overviews of a topic, a time period, a genre, or an author's life and works. These are general literature reference tools, but keep in mind that there are also many author- or subject-specific resources in the reference collection, and that it might be helpful to browse the PN (general literature), PR (English literature), or PS (American literature) call number ranges to see if your topic is represented in a specialized reference work.
General Literary Background Information
Use these resources to find author biographies, critical essays, histories, and other general background information.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
- Listener Historical Archive (BBC) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archive of weekly BBC publication "The Listener" from 1929-1991. The Listener reproduced radio broadcasts and television programs in print and also discussed major literary and musical programs.
- Literary Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia containing profiles of authors, works and literary and historical topics with coverage of English, American, Canadian, German, Russian and other literature.
- Literary Print Culture: The Stationers' Company Archive, 1554-2007 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archive of documents relating to the history of printing, publishing, bookbinding, and bookselling dating from 1554-2007.
- Literary Reference Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames, including criticism, reviews, plot summaries, synopses, poems, and short stories.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical dictionary of the English language. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of words, past and present, from across the English-speaking world.
- Primary Sources: LiteratureList of primary source materials available to the Kenyon community.
- Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains book reviews, arts reviews, poems, letters and commentary pieces.
Chat with Us
Writing and Citing
MLA Handbook, 8th edition by Call Number: KEN Reference LB2369 .G53 2016ISBN: 9781603292658Publication Date: 2016Find copies at the Research & Reference Desk (we have one copy now, more to come soon).
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th editionCall Number: KEN Reference LB2369 .G53 2009ISBN: 1603290249Publication Date: 2009Multiple copies are available at the Research & Reference Desk.
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly PublishingCall Number: KEN Reference PN147 .G444 2008ISBN: 0873522974Publication Date: 2008Multiple copies are available at the Research & Reference Desk.
A Short Guide to Writing About Literature, 11th edition by Call Number: KEN Reference PE1479 .C7 B3 2009ISBN: 0205602959Publication Date: 2009Available at the reference desk.
