New Studio Art Titles
Useful Books, Encyclopedias, Databases, & Websites
- Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text general subject database of reference titles
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly art encyclopedia covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present, with entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, as well as scholarly articles and bibliographies.
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly art encyclopedia covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present, with entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, as well as scholarly articles and bibliographies.
The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms by Call Number: N 33 C575 2010ISBN: 9780199569922Publication Date: 2010-08-20More than 1,700 entries, An accessible and comprehensive A-Z guide covering terms from the visual art world
Benezit Dictionary of Artists by ISBN: 2700030702Publication Date: 2006-06-01Incomparable source of art-historical information. Over 170,000 entries.
The Tate Guide to Modern Art Terms by ISBN: 9781854377500Publication Date: 2009-03-01For museum goers, art students, and general readers alike
The Yale Dictionary of Art and Artists by ISBN: 0300064586Publication Date: 2000-08-11Aspects of Western art from 1300 to about the 1990s. It provides information on painters, sculptors, and graphic artists, technical processes, terminology, theory, schools, movements, patrons and collecting
Universal Principles of Art by ISBN: 9781631590306Publication Date: 2014-11-15A wealth of prompts, hints, insights and roadmaps that will open possibilities and provide keys to understanding art works and generating new ones.
Essential human anatomy for artists : a complete visual guide to drawing the structures of the living formISBN: 9781631599606a series of anatomy lessons that guides artists to see and draw the shapes and structures of the human form as it exists in life
Basic Human Anatomy by ISBN: 9781580934381Publication Date: 2016-10-18Basic Human Anatomy teaches artists the simple yet powerful formula artists have used for centuries to draw the human figure from the inside out A comprehensive, yet flexible and holistic approach to the human body for artists,
Drawing from Life by Call Number: NC760 .B86 1997 (in the main stacks)ISBN: 0155015117Publication Date: 1996-08-02Cohesive presentation of anatomy, including a chapter on the human head, helps students understand underlying structure of bones, muscle, and body fat. Larger images throughout promote clearer understanding of concepts.
Human Anatomy for Artists by Call Number: NC 760 G67 1991 (Request from Storage)ISBN: 0195052064Publication Date: 1991-11-07featuring hundreds of photos and illustrations, this guide offers more views of each bone and muscle than many other books: every structure that creates or influences surface form is individually illustrated in clear, carefully lit photographs and meticulous drawings.
Spotlight on nature : tips and techniques for drawing and painting nature on locationISBN: 9780760374566demonstrates how to make the most of nature in on-location drawings and paintings
- Archives of American Art, Smithsonian InstituteSince 1954, the Archives has collected roughly 16 million letters, photographs, diaries, oral history interviews, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, and other documents that support the study of the history of the visual arts in America.
- sculptor.orgLinks to over 400 pages of resources from the "resources for sculptors" page.
- National Museum of Women in the ArtsFounded in 1987, NMWA is the only major museum in the world solely dedicated to recognizing women’s creative contributions.
- AxiswebArtists network in Great Britain.
Library Catalogs
Our membership in several library consortia permits you to request books using your Kenyon ID
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Locate books, journals and magazines, music scores, archival materials, and media in libraries worldwide
Searching Catalogs
-
Gather a list of useful art terms or artists names from lecture notes and/or assigned readings to begin your search in the CONSORT or OhioLINK library catalogs. Books owned by other CONSORT libraries may be requested and will be sent here in 5-6 working days. Search the OhioLINK online card catalog for additional books on your topic. Items may be requested from the OhioLINK catalog using the barcode on the back of your student ID.
- Interlibrary Loan Requests, for journal articles or books not in CONSORT or OhioLINK, may be filled out using our online form, if you need assistance filling out the form based on a citation you found or have a question about a journal abbreviation, etc. just stop by the information desk for assistance.
- Suggestion: Begin your research using simple searches and take notes on the various subject headings included in the online records for books and films. These 'subject headings' often carry over for use in journal indexes and so it is important to keep a running list of terms you glean from databases and indexes.
-
- example simple search for books:
- example SAMPLE SUBJECT HEADING search for books:
- Sculpture, American -- 21st Century -- Exhibitions
- If you are working on a topic which the library may own a documentary about it is possible to refine your searches further. From a general search page select the 'limit/sort' or 'modify search' button at the top of the search screen and then click on the relevant search option(s).
- example search for books:
Andy Warhol
example search MODIFY SEARCH > PROJECTED MEDIUM > Videos (Streaming)
Andy Warhol
Chat with Us
Subject Guide
Helpful Tutorials
Scroll through the videos to find useful tutorials on Searching Consort, Using Google Scholar, Finding the Full Text of an Article, and more!