This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Kenyon College

 

Remote Learning Library Resources

This guide provides information about Kenyon's library services while our campus is learning remotely.

Contact Us

Please check this page often during the remainder of the semester as changing conditions can affect services quickly from day to day.

Contact Us

Circulation

740-427-5187 (phone)

Helpline

740-427-5700 (phone)

helpline@kenyon.edu (Google Chat or email)

Reference and Instruction

reference@kenyon.edu (email)

reference.kenyon.edu (FAQ and chat)

740-444-4031 (text)

Book Requests & Renewals

Book Requests & Renewals

How do I pick up my books currently on hold in Library Mod B? 
  • For students, we will have your books already checked out to your library account.  The books are staged on tables in Library Mod B where you may pick them up through Sunday, March 22.
  • If you cannot get to campus by that date, we can mail books to you after this week. We will send you an email to confirm whether you still want the book(s) and where you would like them mailed.
  • For faculty, items will be checked out to your account and sent to your Kenyon address via campus mail or home address. Until March 22nd ,you can pick them up in Mod B.  The books will be staged on tables in the front of the mod. 
  • The library mods will be closed after March 22nd.
When will books be due?
  • For seniors, books will be due at the end of the spring semester 2020.
  • Undergraduates may keep their books until the start of fall semester 2020.
  • You may also mail your books back to Kenyon at any time (see below for mailing address).
  • If you still have questions please email circulation at cirsup@kenyon.edu.
Can I still request books from Ohiolink?
  • No. OhioLINK has indefinitely suspended borrowing across the consortium in response to the outbreak.  
Can I still request books from Kenyon?
  • Yes. If you do not need the entire book we encourage you to request the chapters or pages needed via the Interlibrary Loan portal (Kenyon sign-on and Duo authentication required) and we will scan it and email it to you.  
  • If you need the entire book we can send a limited number of books to you. You may request these via CONSORT and select the Kenyon location. 
Can I still make interlibrary loan requests?
  • For journal articles and book chapters, yes, although please be aware that this process may take significantly longer than normal due to the strain on libraries across the country.
  • For book loans, yes for those individuals still on campus although again, please know that this process may take significantly longer and fewer schools are lending during this time.  We will not be able to fill book loan requests for any individuals not on campus.
  • If you still have questions please email at ill@kenyon.edu. 
Where do I mail books?
Library Mod B
Kenyon College 
103 College Drive
Gambier, OH 43022
 
What about library lockers?   
  • All lockers in Library Mod B  need to be cleaned out this week, even if you are staying on campus.  Lockers should be cleaned out and the key left in the lock by Sunday, March 22. If you are unable to return to campus to clean out your locker, we are working on a process to have materials sent to you. 
  • Those students remaining on campus with lockers in the Gaskin study space may keep them until further notice.
 

Looking for Online Readings

Looking for Assigned Readings

Assigned textbooks for the spring semester which were already available online should be linked from CONSORT reserves. You may search by course number or instructor name to locate a list of titles associated with the course. If any of those titles are available electronically, they will be identified by the call number prefix KEN Online and the book title will link to the online version:

 

The Kenyon Bookstore has also been working with several of its vendors which have made a number of spring textbooks available online for the remainder of the semester and these titles have been loaded directly into class pages on Moodle.
In addition the vendors Redshelf and VitalSource are also offering Kenyon students access to an additional seven electronic textbooks for the remainder of the semester. Please visit the vendor sites for more information or contact the Bookstore.
Additional library vendors are also responding to the outbreak crisis by making varying amounts of their content freely available through the spring and many of these offers are being incorporated into K-Search where possible. A comprehensive, up-to-date list of these offers is being maintained at https://tinyurl.com/vendorsupportedaccess.

Looking for Alternative Readings

Many different editions of assigned course readings and textbooks may be available in full text online format. For example, start with the 'Advanced Search' page in K-Search and search for the title 'Tempest', author 'Shakespeare' and limit your results to 'Full Text Online Only':

 

You can also use K-Search to find specific journal articles by author or by article or publication title. Or for looking for ebooks, articles and other online content pertaining to a subject area keeping in mind to similarly limit your results to those available 'Full Text Online Only'.
You may also browse our complete lists of our Research Databases and electronic journals.

Looking for Research Help

Research Help

Research assistance is available to all Monday through Friday, 10am-12pm and 1pm-4pm (beginning March 23) via the following platforms: 

  • Chat: reference.kenyon.edu
  • Text: 740-444-4031
  • Email: reference@kenyon.edu (please allow up to 24 hours for a response)
 
Kenyon's subject librarians are also available for research consultations and assistance. You may request an appointment to be held by phone, chat or Google Meet. 
Our Research Guides are also available online. Designed and curated by librarians these guides include recommended resources and research strategies organized by subject departments and courses.
 
Special Collections & Archives
The Special Collections Reading Room is currently closed to the public. If you have any questions about services or materials please email the department at:  archives@kenyon.edu. 
 
Data and Statistics Services 
 
Online Library Instruction 

Online Workshops

Online Library Instruction Workshops and Schedule

Finding and Evaluating Sources 40 mins

In this workshop students will learn valuable techniques in locating both scholarly and popular material. Students will also learn how to assess whether or not the information they find is reliable and useful for their research needs. A reliable internet connection and the ability to work in multiple tabs at once are recommended for active participation in this workshop. A link to join the workshop will be sent to registrants prior to the beginning of the session.

 

Tuesday, March 31, 11am-11:40 EST  Register for this workshop here

Thursday, April 2, 7pm-7:40 pm EST Register for this workshop here

Thursday, April 9, 12noon-12:40 EST Register for this workshop here


 

Searching Science Resources: Pubmed, Science Citation Index, Google Scholar 40 mins

In this workshop students will learn the ins and outs of searching for science-specific information across a variety of platforms. Students will apply assessment techniques in order to determine whether or not the information they find is reliable and useful for their research needs. A reliable internet connection and the ability to work in multiple tabs at once are recommended for active participation in this workshop. A link to join the workshop will be sent to registrants prior to the beginning of the session.

 

Monday, April 6, 12 noon Register for this workshop here

Wednesday, April 8, 4pm Register for this workshop here


 

Advanced Search Techniques 60 mins

In this workshop students will learn and utilize advanced research techniques in order to select and search for primary and secondary sources in a range of places. This workshop is recommended for students that have already attended library instruction sessions in the past and are currently working on a large research project. Students should have already chosen a research topic and begun finding sources in order to participate fully in this interactive session. A reliable internet connection and the ability to work in multiple tabs at once are recommended for active participation in this workshop. A link to join the workshop will be sent to registrants prior to the beginning of the session.

 

Friday, April 3, 12noon-1pm Register for this workshop here

Tuesday, April 7, 11am-12noon Register for this workshop here

Thursday, April 9, 7pm-8pm Register for this workshop here


 

© 2015. LBIS, Kenyon College
103 College Drive, Gambier, OH 43022-9624
Tel: (740) 427-5186