Welcome to the History Guide!
Please feel free to email or make an appointment with Janell or Sarah via the "Schedule Appointment" buttons under our pictures on the left side.
This guide is intended to get you started with resources for any type of research project that may relate to History. While it relies heavily on more traditional scholarly and password protected material only available to the Kenyon community, we are working to add material of hidden and oppressed voices in order to help researchers fill out the gaps in our understanding of research, scholarship, and ourselves. Suggestions are encouraged and welcome!
Reference Databases
Encyclopedias and biographical dictionaries can provide definitions and foundational information about a topic or a person and place them in wider historical and cultural contexts. Browse the online reference collections below to expand your understanding of a research topic.
-
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Full text general subject database of reference titles
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference sources
-
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedia spanning 25 different subject areas.
-
HeinOnline: Government, Politics & Law This link opens in a new window
Full text documents on legal history, case law, world trials, U.S. government, congressional reports, and other government documents.
-
OhioLINK Electronic Book Center This link opens in a new window
Thousands of scholarly and reference e-books covering the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
-
Oxford Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Concise and original introductions to a diverse range of subjects written by experts in the fields.
Research Manuals
-
Essaying the Past: how to read, write, and think about history
by
ISBN: 9781119111948Publication Date: 2016-10-06Part research manual, part study guide, and part introduction to the study of history, Essaying the Past guides the reader through the nuts and bolts of producing good historical prose, offering key strategies and useful tips. -
The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature
by
ISBN: 9780195057270Publication Date: 1995-03-30Historians from around the world provide commentary on the best and most useful works in their fields--almost 27,000 annotated citations--to provide bibliographic guidance from prehistory to the twentieth century.
Online Historical Dictionaries
Use K-Search for the titles below or reference sources on other regions by doing a Title search for "Historical Dictionary of ... " and insert the country or region of your choice.
