Interlibrary Loan
- Interlibrary Loan ServicesUpon request, Kenyon’s ILL staff makes every attempt to locate and obtain resources not owned by Kenyon, another CONSORT library, or OhioLINK library. Items may include books, journal and newspaper articles, dissertations, microfilmed materials, and other circulating documents
Bibliographic Mining and Deep Dive Tools
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Journal article citations in science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. WOS also includes citation analysis tools.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Locate books, journals and magazines, music scores, archival materials, and media in libraries worldwide
History and Humanities-Related Databases
To search for articles on your topic try some of the databases below. In many cases, you can get the full text of the article by following a FIND FULL TEXT link from the database.
Search Tips:
- Brainstorm Keywords: Consider synonyms, alternate spellings, and other similar ways to find terms related to your topic.
- Look at Subject Headings: Most databases will include their own subject headings. When you find a relevant article, click on subject (heading), or refine your search to include both a subject (heading) and keywords, to find similar articles.
- Set reasonable limits: Be careful not to set too many limits, especially if you are just beginning your research.
- Scan the Bibliography and Reference List: If you do find the perfect article (or essay, or book, or primary source, etc) check out the bibliography, and then search for some of these resources.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis resource contains more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition, Academic Search Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowIncludes bibliographic citations and abstracts covering the historical literature of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Sources include journals, books, dissertations, and book reviews from 1964 to present.
- Asia-StudiesThis index incorporates more than 20 journals specialized in the Asian Humanities and Social Sciences. Some articles are accessible for free, others you may request through Interlibrary Loan.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexes 2,300 journals from 1955 to present. Indexes and abstracts scholarly literature on the history of the world, except the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexes 2,300 journals with full text from 1,200.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowOver 1,800 full text journals. Index does not include the last six years worth of publications.
- OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center This link opens in a new windowIndex of articles published during the last six years from 9,100 journals.
- Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes 1,700 journals, 1898-present.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features news, business, government, and legal sources from LexisNexis, dating back to 1790. It includes articles, broadcasts, newswires, and newspapers archives from the local to international level.
- Testaments to the Holocaust This link opens in a new window
Documents reflecting personal accounts of life in Nazi Germany, photographs, propaganda materials such as school text books, small publications and rare serials reflecting Jewish life in Germany from 1889-1965.
- Life under Nazi rule, reports by anti-fascists in occupied Europe, 1933-1945 This link opens in a new window
Collection of two newsletters published between 1933 and 1945 that document the Nazi regime and include reports about occupied Europe. They focused on the role of organized labor, the working class, and the political left in fascist dictatorships.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses A&I This link opens in a new window
Citation information for doctoral dissertations and master's theses from North America and Europe.
Finding Sources Beyond Kenyon
If you aren't finding what you need for your assignment, make an appointment or stop by the reference desk for further assistance. LBIS provides access to over 450 research databases. The CONSORT and OhioLINK catalogs do not contain information about individual articles published in journals. However, if you have a citation to a journal article--the author's name, the title of the article, the name of the journal, etc. you can search by journal title to determine if the library has the full text. The Middle Path Minute (left) is a short tutorial on how to find an article using a citation. If we don't have the journal at Kenyon, simply fill out an Interlibrary loan request form.
Use the Deep Dive databases for even further exploration into a topic. Linked on the left column, Web of Science is helpful when you want to see all works by a prominent author on your topic(s). WorldCat provides exploration into all kinds of archives, books, media, journals, and more from all over the world. If it's out there in a library, WorldCat can often tell you where.