Kenyon's one-stop search tool, K·Search, is a great place tool to use if you have a particular author or title to search for; it's also a good place to start a general search for scholarly and peer-reviewed materials.
To the left of your results list, you'll see options for filtering your results:
- Scholarly & Peer-Reviewed
- Content Type (e.g., Journal Article or Book)
- Academic Discipline
- Publication Date
- LibKey Nomad This link opens in a new window
LibKey Nomad browser extension gives you fast, one-click access to scholarly articles. Whether you are on publisher sites, Wikipedia, PubMed, or other websites, you will see the same logo to let you know that Kenyon College has access.
Article databases
Article databases are the best way to search for research publications and peer-reviewed articles on specific topics. The ones listed here are likely to be useful for ECON topics, but many more are available.
- EconLIt This link opens in a new window
Citation search database from the American Economic Association. Covers all areas related to economics from 1886-present
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, multi-disciplinary collection of scholarly journals, ebooks, proceedings, and newspapers covering all academic areas of study.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform. Each journal has a “moving wall,” defined as a time lag between the most current issue published and the content available on JSTOR.
Newspapers and other news sources
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features news, business, government, and legal sources from LexisNexis, dating back to 1790. It includes articles, broadcasts, newswires, and newspapers archives from the local to international level.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Full text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, and newspaper columns. Television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Coverage of regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports This link opens in a new window
FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Global media reports include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary.
- Joint Publications Research Service Reports This link opens in a new window
English-language archive of translations of foreign scientific, technical, and social science documents and other materials, including radio and television broadcasts.
- Economist Historical Archive (1843-2020) This link opens in a new window
Weekly magazine known for its consistent approach to internationalism and comprehensive analysis of global news, from 1843-2020.
U.S. Government resources
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Congressional publications and legislative histories. Publications include bills, public laws, and statutes, Daily record, hearings, reports, and executive documents.
- HeinOnline: Government, Politics & Law This link opens in a new window
Full text documents on legal history, case law, world trials, U.S. government, congressional reports, and other government documents.
- GovInfoGovInfo (formerly known as FDsys) is maintained by the Government Printing Office (GPO) and is the official source for online freely available authenticated information from the executive, congressional, and judicial branches of government.
Working papers
Working papers are articles released before (or without) being submitted for peer review, and are used by economists as a timely and informal way to share ideas, methodologies, and garner feedback.
- NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new window
Collection of working papers provided by the National Bureau of Economic Research - a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization. These working papers have not undergone official review yet and coverage is 1973-present.
- Working Papers of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. LouisFederal Reserve Bank of St. Louis working papers are preliminary materials circulated to stimulate discussion and critical comment.
- Working Papers of the U.S. Bureau of Economic AnalaysisPapers and presentations prepared by Bureau of Economic Analysis staff.
- IDEAS - RePEcIDEAS is the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet.
- Economics Research NetworkEconomics Research Network is an open access preprint server that provides a venue for working papers, early stage research, and some peer reviewed or published journal articles.
- Fed in PrintThis database provides access to research published by the Board of Governors and all 12 Federal Reserve Banks
Chat with our research desk
Key Journals
- American Economic Review Articles unavailable for 2 years following time of publication
Browse more Econ journals using BrowZine:
