Many of our databases provide links to full-text access to articles. These links may connect you to JSTOR, OhioLINK's Electronic Journal Center, or EBSCOhost collections of articles. The more databases you search, the more expansive your search results may be. But remember, there are some databases dedicated to specific topics, for example, the gender and sexuality studies, sociology, history, etc. databases listed below.
Databases
Individual articles are not searchable in library catalogs. Instead, they can be found in our online databases, or located by running a Journal by Title search on the library homepage. The following databases are subject-specific databases to help you get started with your article searching.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Citations and some full text for scholarly articles related to gender and sexuality from 1972-present.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, newspapers, and reports from 1970-present, on the evolution of gender roles, LGBTQ+, sexuality, religion, workplace, and family studies.
- Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs This link opens in a new window
Books, pamphlets, and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights from 1543-1945.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Collection of LGBTQ+ journals, magazines, books, and regional newspapers.
- Struggle for Women's Rights (ProQuest History Vault) This link opens in a new window
Records of suffrage and other women's rights organizations, such as the National Woman's Party, League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance, as well as personal papers of women's rights advocates.
- Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library (ProQuest History Vault) This link opens in a new window
Materials focusing on women's voting rights, national politics, and reproductive rights in America.
- Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Archives of leading "women's interest" consumer magazines, from 1846-2005. Twelve magazines, with images and advertisements, are included.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Citations for articles covering Women's studies and feminist research from 1972-present.
- Women, War, and Society, 1914-1918 This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials from WWI cover the contribution of women to the war in Europe, from 1914-1918. The collection includes charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, and press cuttings.
- Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window
Women’s literary works in the early modern period, from 1526-1850. Texts are of verse, drama, fiction, and non-fiction.
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ history and culture since 1940 This link opens in a new window
Primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. The content sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more.
- Sex & Sexuality: the Kinsey Institute Papers This link opens in a new window
Primary sources collected by prominent sex researchers and consists of unpublished professional papers, reports, correspondences, and autobiographical accounts encompassing all aspects of sex, sexuality & gender identity.
Helpful Resources
- LibKey Nomad This link opens in a new window
LibKey Nomad browser extension gives you fast, one-click access to scholarly articles. Whether you are on publisher sites, Wikipedia, PubMed, or other websites, you will see the same logo to let you know that Kenyon College has access.
More Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Academic journal articles and books: primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Each journal has a “moving wall” for article access (time lag between the most current issue and the content at JSTOR)
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly journals and articles mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
- Independent VoicesAn open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Finding Data and Sociology Resources
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles, market, industry and SWOT analysis reports, studies, and other business news.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features news, business, government, and legal sources from LexisNexis, dating back to 1790. It includes articles, broadcasts, newswires, and newspapers archives from the local to international level.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles, conference proceedings, and other publications in sociology, from 1908-present
- Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistical analysis platform with quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and other areas of interest or markets. Data sources include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.