American Indian ArchivesInformation relating to American Indians from as early as 1774 through the mid 1990's.
Indigenous Histories and Culture in North AmericaThis link opens in a new windowExplore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
American Indians and the American West (ProQuest History Vault)This link opens in a new windowThis database features a number of collections on American Indians in the 19th Century, with a focus on the interaction among white settlers, the U.S. federal government, and Indian tribes.
American WestThis link opens in a new windowPrimary source collection describing westward expansion in America from the early eighteenth to the mid-twentieth century.
Indigenous Peoples: North AmericaThis link opens in a new windowPrimary source materials documenting the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada from the 17th to 21st century.
Native American ArchivesThis link opens in a new windowCollection of documents and images of Native American history, including: Indian Census Rolls, Dawes Packets, Dawes Enrollment Cards, Eastern Cherokee Applications, Guion Miller Roll, Cherokee Indian Agency TN, and Ratified Indian Treaties.
Native American Documents ProjectMany of the documents on this site were taken from microfilmed collections of reports and letters published by the National Archives. Documents are limited in scope.
America's Historical ImprintsThis link opens in a new window72,000 books printed between 1639 and 1819 and 30,000 broadsides and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
Sabin AmericanaThis link opens in a new windowFull text books, pamphlets, and documents about the Americas published from 1500-1926.
Travels Into the Interior of North America by Karl BodmerColored prints of Indian ceremonies and lifestyles made to illustrate Prince Maximillian's expedition into North and South Dakaotas and the upper Missouri River 1833-34 provide excellent ethnological documentation.
Catlin's North American Indian portfolioHand colored lithographs of Hunting Scenes and Amusements of the Rocky Mountains and Prairies of America., 1844. We also have the Library of Congress facsimile edition , 1989.
History of the Indian tribes of North AmericaHand colored lithographs of Hunting Scenes and Amusements of the Rocky Mountains and Prairies of America., 1844. We also have the Library of Congress facsimile edition , 1989.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North AmericaThis link opens in a new windowBibliography of Native North Americans is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Coverage from 16th century to present.
Omaha Indian MusicPresented here are selections from the American Folklife Center's collections documenting Omaha music traditions.
Smithsonian Global SoundThis link opens in a new windowIncludes recordings from the American Institute for Indian Studies.
Censuses of American IndiansOnline resource.
Prior to 1900, few Indians are included in the decennial federal census. This resource lists microfilm collections and a few links to electronically reproduced documents.
ProQuest CongressionalThis link opens in a new windowCongressional publications and legislative histories. Publications include bills, public laws, and statutes, Daily record, hearings, reports, and executive documents.
Federal Digital SystemOnline access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
National Congress of American IndiansThe oldest, largest and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities.
Native American Women PlaywrightsA collection of original materials by Native women playwrights of the Americas. Use the 'Resources' link on the right to access bibliographies. A new bibliography of plays by Native men may also be accessed.
