Instruction Librarian
Selected Reference Resources
Reference works include encyclopedias, research handbooks, and bibliographies. Reference works offer overviews of a topic and help to place it in context. They can be especially useful in providing you with keywords with which to construct your database and catalog searches. Some of our library's reference works are online, others are in print in the reference collection.
Another advantage: they often include bibliographies of primary and secondary sources.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Collection of encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference sources
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedia spanning 25 different subject areas.
- The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical LiteratureCall Number: KEN Reference D20 .A55 1995
- The Continuum encyclopedia of modern criticism and theoryCall Number: KEN Reference PN94 .C695 2002
- The encyclopedia of literary and cultural theory - Michael RyanCall Number: KEN Reference PN81 .E435 2011
- Oxford Dictionary of National BiographyCall Number: KEN Reference DA28 .O95 2004
Selected Electronic Resources
- Oxford Digital LibraryOver 1100 images of medieval manuscripts are offered for browsing, in date order.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference sources
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedia spanning 25 different subject areas.
- Modern History SourcebookA diversity of source materials in modern European, American, and Latin American history, as well as a significant amount of material pertinent to world cultures and global studies.
Subject Guide
All Databases
- Databases A-ZThe list of over 330 databases available at Kenyon. Databases will include journal articles, books, primary source materials, streaming video, art images, and more.
Many of our databases provide links to full-text access to articles. These links may connect you to JSTOR, OhioLINK's Electronic Journal Center, or Ebscohost collections of articles. The more databases you search, the more expansive your search results may be. But remember, there are some databases dedicated to specific topics, for example, the English, literature, humanities, and popular culture databases which are listed in the next column.