Obtaining Materials Not At Kenyon
- Interlibrary LoanUse InterLibrary Loan when you would like to access resources outside of the Kenyon and OhioLink collections.
Historical Collections
- African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspapers covering the African American experience from 1827-1998. Contains newspapers from more than 35 states.
- African American Newspapers on Microfilm14 additional titles at Kenyon
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Archive of Los Angles Times newspaper from 1881-1997.
- New York Times (Historical archive) This link opens in a new window
Full text of the New York Times including article-level images. Coverage is from 1851-2017
- ProQuest Civil War Era This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials related to the civil war, including: economic factors, the abolitionist movement, battle casualties, and emancipation.
- ProQuest History Vault This link opens in a new windowIncludes access to 11 separate collections of primary source materials including: Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century (2 separate collections of government records and organizational papers), Immigration: Records of the INS, NAACP Papers (4 separate collections), Slavery and the Law, Struggle for Women's Rights (organizational records), Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, and Women's Studies Manuscript Collections.
Imprints and Archives
- American Slavery : A Composite Autobiography This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of slave narratives from transcripts of 2,000 interviews of former slaves from seventeen states, conducted between 1936 and 1938.
- Afro-Americana Imprints This link opens in a new window
Books, pamphlets, and broadsides that record African American history, literature, and culture. Created from the Library Company's Afro-Americana Collection and covers 1535-1922.
- Black Abolitionist Papers This link opens in a new window
Primary source collection of proceedings, documents, correspondences, manuscripts, and literary works of Black abolitionists detailing the work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War, covering 1830-1865.
- Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines This link opens in a new window
Articles from confederate, union, abolitionist, and British presses, from 1860-1865, and representing both Union and Confederate points of view.
- John W. Mosley PhotographsThis collection includes a selection of images from the John W. Mosley Collection, which documents African American life in and around Philadelphia. Housed in the Charles L. Blockson Afro-American Collection, Temple University Libraries, it is a significant and extraordinary regional history collection, documenting virtually every social, cultural, and political aspect of life in the African American community during the mid-20th century.
- Library of Congress African American SitesFrom the Library of Congress's archives the primary focus of this website is to connect the user to full text online resources regarding significant people, major institutions and events from an African American perspective, historically related to an era.
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery Archive This link opens in a new window
Collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
- The Negro Motorist Green Book, 1949The GREEN BOOK with its list of hotels, boarding houses, restaurants, beauty shops, barber shops and various other services can most certainly help solve your travel problems. It was the idea of Victor H. Green, the publisher, in introducing the Green Book, to save the travelers of his race as many difficulties and embarrassments as possible.”
- Voyages: Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade DatabaseInformation on almost 35,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. Click Database to start exploring.
Health and Statistics
- African American ProfileStatistics from the Office of Minority Health.
- Data.govHome of the U.S. Government’s open data. Official statistical resources from 70+ federal agencies.
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
U.S. historical data and statistics. Tables may be graphed, customized, and downloaded.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistical analysis platform with quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and other areas of interest or markets. Data sources include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) 1878-2012 This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive summary of historical statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Coverage from 1878 to 2012.
- Sage Data This link opens in a new windowProvides original datasets with customizable graphs and tables. Users can scan the contents of these datasets, select subjects and variables of interest (e.g., geographic area and time period), and view the data in side-by-side tables and charts. Also includes data on consumer demographics and usage/spending patterns for products and services within all states, counties, census tracts, and block groups in the US.