Keyword Search Strategies
Journals and Newspapers
- OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center This link opens in a new window Full text articles for over 9000 journals from scholarly publishers.
This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Academic journal articles and books: primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Each journal has a “moving wall” for article access (time lag between the most current issue and the content at JSTOR)
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Collection of scholarly journals and articles mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- China Academic Journals (series F only) This link opens in a new window Chinese language journals in literature, history, and philosophy and has backfile access to 1904.
- Chinese Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window Chinese historical newspaper collection, 1832-1954, including over 22 different newspapers.
- This link opens in a new window
- Confidential Print Middle East This link opens in a new window Primary source collection originally issued by the British Government and covers 1839 to 1969, including the countries of the Arabian peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt and Sudan. It includes the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, the partition of Palestine, the 1956 Suez Crisis, and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
- This link opens in a new window
- Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection Japanese diaspora newspapers
- Japan Times Archive This link opens in a new window English-language Japanese newspaper archive covering news and history on world affairs from a Japanese perspective. Coverage from 1897-2018.
- This link opens in a new window
- Late Qing and Republican Era Chinese Newspapers (1911-1949) The press of more than twenty cities is represented, spanning the Chinese mainland and the entire half century. The collection provides researchers a richly comprehensive perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic.
- Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers This link opens in a new window Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection, from 1870-present, predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French.
- Newspapers at CRL May be borrowed through InterLibrary Loan
- Times of India This link opens in a new window Archive of Times of India newspaper from 1838-2010.
- This link opens in a new window
- World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window Large collection of historical newspapers (1800-1922) from the U.S. and around the world in English and foreign languages.
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and Databases
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window Citation search database that contains records on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971-present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Middle East and Africa (MIDA) database This link opens in a new window Citations and full text of journals, newspapers, and conference proceedings, covering the political, economic, technological, and social development of the Middle East and Africa.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window Citations for articles and reports covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related research.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window Journals and articles about decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, 1995-present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window Citations for articles in Arts and Humanities journals from 1975-present. Also includes with citation analysis tools.
- Asia-Studies This index incorporates more than 20 journals specialized in the Asian Humanities and Social Sciences. Some articles are accessible for free, others you may request through ILL.
- Atla Religion Database This link opens in a new window Citation search database covering the research literature of religion in over 60 languages and coverage spans from 1949-present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window Resource for theory and research in international affairs from 1991 onward. It includes working papers from research institutes, papers series from NGOs, foundation funded research projects, conference proceedings, policy briefs, case studies, and journals
- Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window Journals, books, movie reviews, and images related to film and television.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Citations for articles covering the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450-present, including military history, women's history, and history of education.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window Journals, books, and other publications in all aspects of the humanities worldwide.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window Articles, conference proceedings, and other publications in sociology, from 1908-present
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window Citations for articles covering Women's studies and feminist research from 1972-present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window