American Biographies
All of these biographical books and series can be found in our Reference Collection.
-
American National Biography
Call Number: Ref. CT213 .A68 1999ISBN: 0195206355 -
Contemporary Black BiographyCall Number: Ref. DT18 .C66Vol. 1 to present. Published twice each year.
-
-
Dictionary of American BiographyCall Number: Ref. E176 .D56Vol. 1 to present.
-
-
Who's Who In AmericaCall Number: North Wall Ref. E176 .W6421901-present
-
Who's Who of American WomenCall Number: Ref. E176 .W6471958-present (incomplete holdings)
Biography Databases
American and International biography resources.
-
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present.
-
Dictionary of Canadian BiographyAlso available in print.
-
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (Oxford DNB) is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.
More Biographies
Subject specific and foreign language biographical information may be found in the subject resource guides.
-
Dictionnaire de biographie françaiseDC36 .D5
-
Dizionario biografico degli ItalianiDG463.D5
-
Neue deutsche BiographieDD85 .N4
-
Russkiĭ biograficheskiĭ slovarʹDK37 .R87 2007
International Biographies
Note the location of the book (reference or folio collections).
-
Dictionary of African Biography
Call Number: Folio DT18 .D55ISBN: 0917256018 -
Dictionary of Canadian BiographyCall Number: Ref. F1005 .D491966-present. Also available online.
-
-
Dictionary of National BiographyCall Number: DA28 .D481885-present. British biographies.
-
Dictionary of World Biography
Call Number: Ref. CT104 .D54 1998ISBN: 0893562734Ancient world to the 20th century -
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography: In Association with the British Academy: From the Earliest Times to the Year 2000
Call Number: DA28 .O95 2004ISBN: 019861411XBritish biographies.
