Kenyon's one-stop search tool, K·Search, is a great place to start a general search for scholarly and peer-reviewed materials. It includes books in the library's collection, but also covers article databases like Academic Search Complete and JSTOR.
Some other useful tools to be aware of are:
- Journals A to ZSearch or browse for journals available at Kenyon by title or subject online and in print.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Interlibrary Loan (or ILL) is a cooperative process by which library materials not available from Kenyon, Consort, Ohiolink or SearchOhio are made available from institutions that are part of a worldwide sharing community.
- LibKey Nomad This link opens in a new window
LibKey Nomad browser extension gives you fast, one-click access to scholarly articles. Whether you are on publisher sites, Wikipedia, PubMed, or other websites, you will see the same logo to let you know that Kenyon College has access.
Starting resources
- BBC Country ProfilesBBC-compiled history, politics, and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. Profiles also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
- CIA World FactbookAnnually updated U.S. government resource provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
- Find-eR: European Commission LibraryFind-eR is the search tool through which you can explore the print and electronic collections of the European Commission libraries.
- Freedom HouseFreedom House is an independent watchdog organization dedicated to the expansion of freedom and democracy around the world and produces research and reports related to this mission.
- OECD iLibraryOECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). The iLibrary features books, papers, and statistics, and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data.
- Pew Research CenterPublicly available data from the web site of one of the industry leaders in polling and public opinion research.
- Polity ProjectThe Polity Project, from the Center for Systemic Peace, codes authority characteristics of states in the world system for purposes of comparative, quantitative analysis.
- Dag Hammarskjöld Library at the UNThe UN's Dag Hammarskjöld Library provides research and information services to support the participation of Member States at the UN.
- World Bank GroupWorld Bank Group aims to end extreme poverty across the globe, and is comprised of five institutions managed by their member countries.
- World Values DatabaseA global network of social scientists studying changing values and their impact on social and political life with operations headquartered in Stockholm, Sweden.
