Using Electronic Databases & Journals
Citations to scholarly journal articles may be located using the indexes listed in the right-hand column. A 'citation' is the information you will need to locate an article in a specific volume of a journal, including the author's name, the title of the the article, the title of the journal, the volume number, the issue number, and the page number(s) of the article. You may repeat the search string you used to locate books, adding key terms to narrow very broad searches.
To determine if the Kenyon Library owns a journal title listed search for the journal title in Consort.
EXAMPLE
A keyword search for jennifer bartlett in Art Full Text resulted in a listing of more than 102 journal articles (including articles about her, book reviews of books about her, exhibition reviews, illustrations of her works in journals). To narrow this search I added the term 'pastels' to one of the search term boxes.
Journals Held in CONSORT and OhioLINK
If the databases listed in the right-hand box are not linked to electronic full-text check CONSORT and OhioLINK for the JOURNAL title to see if it is owned in print at a library in Ohio. Some OhioLINK bound volumes of journals circulate from their home libraries. You may initiate requests for bound volumes through our partner libraries using your Kenyon barcode.
Databases
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A great resource for finding reviews and announcements on artists, galleries, shows, exhibitions, etc. - Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art Full Text provides comprehensive abstracting and indexing for 400 leading international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. This database offers broad coverage of art topics, including advertising, archaeology, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, video, film, architecture, and art history. - Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations for articles and book reviews on art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art from 1929-1984.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) This link opens in a new windowThe Bibliography of the History of Art covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present and indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 4,800 periodicals.
- International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is the successor to BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art) and covers European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database designed specifically for academic institutions. This resource contains more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition, Academic Search Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 1,800 full text journals across the disciplines. - OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
9,100 journals, from more than 50 publishers across the disciplines.
