ILL - Interlibrary Loan
Bibliography Tool
Primary Literature in Biology
- Reading Primary Literature web tutorialA web-based tutorial that teaches students how to read and analyze the scientific literature. Includes practice questions and homeworks assignments based on passages from an actual research article. The tutorial was developed in collaboration with Jasmine Vaughan (former Librarian and Technology Consultant) and Kenyon students, and is aimed at beginning science students and non-science majors.
Science Databases
Finding Articles
Databases and indexes are collections of citations to articles. Select a database that covers the subject area you are researching. Avoid databases with popular literature (i.e. Article First), if you need to find scholarly articles.
Consult the Help and About sections of each database for the most recent information about topical coverage and the types of information included.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Citation information and full text for nursing & allied health journals with coverage back to 1937.
- Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Health care and wellness information aimed at patients
- Health Source : Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Consumer health information available from health magazines, pamphlets, and books.
- Health Source : Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles focusing on many medical disciplines, particularly nursing and allied health.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO with Full Text) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medical information and articles including nursing, health care systems, pre-clinical sciences, dentistry, and veterinary medicine.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
- PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- Science Citation Index Expanded This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation search database for scientific and technical articles with citation analysis tools.
- Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation search for publications in the social sciences with citation analysis tools.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal article citations in science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. WOS also includes citation analysis tools.
General Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, multi-disciplinary collection of scholarly journals, ebooks, proceedings, and newspapers covering all academic areas of study.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic journal articles and books: primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Each journal has a “moving wall” for article access (time lag between the most current issue and the content at JSTOR)
- OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles for over 9000 journals from scholarly publishers.
