Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New York Times Online: Home

This guide explains how to create an account to use the library's subscription to the New York Times.

 

Create an account to access NYTimes.com

Kenyon College Library provides online access to The New York Times for all current students, staff, and faculty members through a Group Pass.

To gain access, you will need to create an individual login at accessnyt.com and follow these step

  1. Create an individual login by going to accessnyt.com
  2. Type "Kenyon" in the box and select it from the list 
  3. Follow instructions for On-Campus or Off-campus registration (Off-campus will take you to Kenyon's Single Sign On to authenticate with DUO)
  4. Create a NYTimes.com account using your Kenyon email address (for security reasons, choose a unique password).
    • Students registering for passes will be asked to provide an anticipated graduation year, and passes will remain valid until December of their graduation year
    • screenshot of student and staff login options

 

*Faculty/staff accounts will be valid for four years, and require additional registration for subsequent use.

*Access does not include e-reader editions, NYT Cooking, Premium Crosswords, or The New York Times Crosswords apps. Pass users receive access to the New York Times archives (1851-2002) which includes 5 PDF downloads from the Times Machine per day via timesmachine.nytimes.com/browser. Archive articles outside that date range are not subject to that limit. Alternative archive access may be found in the New York Times historical archive from ProQuest Historical New York Times

F.A.Q.

CAN I ACCESS THE NEW YORK TIMES FROM MY MOBILE DEVICE?

Visit nytimes.com/mobile on your tablet or mobile device to download free NY Times apps. Full access to the tablet news app has more than 25 sections of content including blogs, video and slide shows. Use your Academic Pass login credentials for access.

I ALREADY HAVE A NYTIMES.COM DIGITAL SUBSCRIPTION. CAN I GET AN ACADEMIC PASS?

nytimes.com does not permit a double entitlement. If you have an existing paid subscription, you are not eligible for an Academic Pass unless you cancel your paid subscription first. You can get help by calling 1-800-591-9233.

CAN I ACCESS THE NEW YORK TIMES OFF-CAMPUS?

Yes, as long as you have registered using your @kenyon.edu e-mail address and obtained your Academic Pass.

I'M HAVING PROBLEMS USING MY ACADEMIC PASS. WHAT SHOULD I DO?

The New York Times offers a troubleshooting guide for the problems some users encounter.

I NEVER RECEIVED A VERIFICATION EMAIL

Check your spam folder. If it is not there, it may have gotten caught in Kenyon's spam filter. Please send an email from your @kenyon.edu email address to edu@nytimes.com with subject line: Academic Pass - no verification email

HOW CAN I UTILIZE THE NEW YORK TIMES IN THE COURSES I TEACH?

New York Times in Education provides curated content for a range of disciplines, allowing you to incorporate news content into your curricula. Register using your Kenyon email address.

Additional Features

New York Times in Education (requires additional registration with Kenyon email) https://nytimesineducation.com/welcome/

Podcasts (including the "Daily" podcast) https://www.nytimes.com/spotlight/podcasts

Newsletters https://www.nytimes.com/newsletters

Archives Times Machine (1851-2002)  https://timesmachine.nytimes.com/browser

Chinese https://cn.nytimes.com/

Spanish https://www.nytimes.com/es/

Live Covid Interactive https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2021/us/covid-cases.html?action=click&module=Top%20Stories&pgtype=Homepage

Well https://www.nytimes.com/section/well

Learning Network https://www.nytimes.com/section/learning

Academic Pass Tutorial

Other Access to The New York times

Electronic Access in databases:

Physical access:

Discovery Services Librarian

Profile Photo
Jennifer Bleiler
she/her/hers