Search Tips
Boolean Operators
Many catalogs and databases allow the user to put a search string together using the boolean operators AND, OR, or NOT.
- AND - combines search terms so that each search result contains all of the terms. For example, stereotyping AND prejudice finds articles that contain both terms.
- OR - combines search terms so that each search result contains at least one of the terms. For example, stereotyping OR prejudice finds results that contain either term.
- NOT - excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of the terms that follow it. For example, stereotyping NOT prejudice finds results that contain the term stereotyping but not the term prejudice.
Truncation
In many catalogs and databases, truncation is represented by an asterisk (*). To use truncation, enter the root of a search term and replace the ending with an *.
For example, type behav* to find the words behave, behavior, behaviour, behavioral, behaviorism, etc..
Preprints
- PsyarXivPsyArXiv allows scholars to post documents such as working papers, unpublished work, and articles under review (preprints), making them accessible to other researchers and to the public at no cost. Users can also upload revisions of their posted document and supplemental documents such as appendices.
Article Databases
- PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window Citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Broad search for scholarly information. Watch this Middle Path Minute to learn how to configure Google Scholar to link to full text at Kenyon: Middle Path Minute
- PsycArticles (APA) This link opens in a new window Journal articles published by the American Psychological Association in applied psychology, health, theory, research, and social/personality.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window Journal article citations in science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. WOS also includes citation analysis tools.
- This link opens in a new window
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Articles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Academic journal articles and books: primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Each journal has a “moving wall” for article access (time lag between the most current issue and the content at JSTOR)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Social Sciences Abstracts This link opens in a new window Citations for articles covering the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- This link opens in a new window
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window Citations for medical articles in a broad range of clinical disciplines. MeSH terms and links to PubMed related articles. Coverage is 1950-present
- This link opens in a new window
Review Articles
Review articles provide an introduction to a particular area of research. Review Articles survey and summarize previously published studies, rather than reporting new facts or analysis.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Critical reviews written by leading scientists. Volumes are published each year for disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences.
- Psychological ReviewThe journal publishes articles that make important theoretical contributions to any area of scientific psychology. The APA provides access to the tables of contents for the current and previous issues. Manuscript submission guidelines and subscription details are available