Research Guides: Historical U.S. Newspapers: Home

Newspaper Directories

The Library of Congress Newspaper Directory searches U.S. newspapers published since 1690 by place and date.

If you're trying to identify what newspapers were published in a particular place at a particular time, the Boston Public Library has digitized a number of newspaper directories for various years.

Dates of Coverage

If dates of coverage are included in an entry for a newspaper, the source may or may not include all issues within the listed time period. Dates of coverage were correct when they were entered, but may have changed since then.

Google News Archive

A complete list of newspapers available at Google News Archive is at: http://news.google.com/newspapers That list is arranged by title of the newspaper and provides a browsable list of all issues available.

Newspapers from Multiple States

19th Century Mormon Article Newspaper Index 1831-1900
Index of newspaper articles about the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints or about Utah. The articles are from newspapers throughout the U.S. The articles are not available full text in this database.
African American Historical Newspapers Online (Cornell University)
Afro Black History Archives
Searchable database of African American newspapers which are also available on Google News Archive. Includes the [Baltimore] Afro-American 1902-1957, the [Baltimore] Afro-American Ledger 1906-1917, the Baltimore Afro-American 1943-2003, and the Washington Afro-American 1938-1988.
Agriculture and Rural Life Newspapers (Auburn U.)
Ancestor Hunt: Newspapers!
Scroll down the page to see a list of links to page for each state. This site has an extensive list of newspapers.
Black Abolitionist Archives: Newspapers
Newspaper clippings from a variety of newspapers. This doesn't contain the full text of the newspapers, just selected articles.
Catholic News Archive
This ongoing project hopes to eventually digitize every Catholic newspaper in North America.
Charleston Museum Illustrated Newspaper Collection
Images from a variety of illustrated newspapers, published mainly in the 19th century.
Chronicling America: Historical American Newspapers 1836-1922
An extensive collection of newspapers, from the Library of Congress.
Civil War Newspaper Illustrations (Fort Sumter National Monument)
Civil War Newspapers (University of Texas at Tyler)
Collegiate Chronicle Student Newspaper Repository (University of Illinois)
A prototype collection of student newspapers from various universities in the United States. This collection is expected to grow as money becomes available.
DigiNole: Historical Newspapers 17th-20th centuries (Florida State University)
While the contents focuses on the southeastern U.S., there are various newspapers in this database.
Digital Library of Danish American Newspapers and Journals 1893 - (Museum of Danish America)
Includes newspapers from California, Iowa, and Nebraska.
Digitalna Knijiznica Slovenije (Slovenian Digital Library)
Click on the link to "Casopisje in Clanki" to see a list that includes newspaper titles. This list includes several Slovenian language newspapers from the U.S.
Drew Pearson's Merry-Go-Round (1932-1969) (American University)
Drew Pearson was a columnist who was published in many newspapers around the United States.
Farm, Field, and Fireside Agriculture Newspaper Collection 1841-1939 (University of Illinois)
Database of rural newspapers.
Gallica: Presse par Pays: Etats-Unis
French-language newspapers from the United States. NOTE: Each title is represented by only a few issues of the newspaper.
GI Movement: Underground Newspapers (University of Washington)
Anti-Vietnam War underground newspapers published in the Pacific Northwest
Historical African American Newspapers Online (Marist U.)
Links to online African American newspapers, both free and subscription sources.
Historic Newspapers from Baylor University
This collection includes a variety of digitized newspapers. Most newspapers are represented by only a few issues.
History Unfolded: U.S. Newspapers and the Holocaust (United States Holocaust Memorial Museum)
Labor Press Project: Radical and Labor Newspapers in the Pacific Northwest
Scattered newspaper clippings.
Last Seen: Finding Family After Slavery (Villanova University)
A database of ads placed by former slaves who were trying to locate family members 1863-early 20th century.
Luminist Archives: Periodical Archives: Dissident, Counterculture, & "Underground" Publications
Digitized issues of underground newspapers. Most of the newspapers are represented by only a few issues.
Newspaper (Library of Congress)
This site searches Library of Congress digital collections that include newspapers, such as Chronicling America, Stars and Stripes from WWI, newspapers from War Relocation Authority camps, etc.
NewspaperCat: Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (University of Florida)
Newspaper Pictorials: World War I Rotogravures 1913-1919
Pacific Northwest Minority, Ethnic, and Special Interest Newspapers (University of Washington)
Published late 19th century - present.
Pacific Northwest Regional Newspaper and Periodical Index (University of Washington)
An index to newspapers, scrapbooks, pamphlets, etc. dealing with life in Seattle, Washington, and the Pacific Northwest. This index started as a card file in 1935.
Portuguese-American Digital Newspaper Collection
Includes newspapers from Massachusetts and California
Secession Era Editorials Project
Stars and Stripes: The American Soldiers' Newspaper of World War I, 1918-1919
Swedish-American Newspapers (Minnesota Historical Society)
Swedish-language newspapers
US NewsMap
Searches more than 11 million newspapers from 1789-1922
Wartime Press: World War II Archives
Copies of various issues of print media from countries involved in World War II. Includes newspapers, magazines, etc.

Newspapers Are Arranged by State

To find the newspaper you want, click on the first letter of the alphabet for the state in which it was published.

Example: To find the Toledo Blade, click on the "O" for Ohio.

Newspapers are Arranged by State

To find the newspaper you want, at the top of this page, click on the Alphabet Tab of the first letter of the state in which it was published.

Example: To find the Toledo Blade, click on the "O" for Ohio.