CONSORT and OhioLINK don't contain information about individual articles within journals and don't always contain information about articles in anthologies or other book-format collections. Search an index or database to find citations to articles or, in many cases, the full text of the articles themselves.

When you've identified a promising article, check CONSORT or OhioLINK to determine which library holds the journal that you need. (Remember to search by the journal title, not the title of the article.) If Kenyon doesn't own the journal or it isn't available online, use Interlibrary Loan.

Modern Languages Association Bibliography (MLA)
Citations to scholarly work in literature, linguistics, film, and folklore worldwide. Sources include journal and book articles, dissertations, monographs, and series.

Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
Covers the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The databases indexes 270 titles completely and an additional 300 selectively.

Film Literature Index
Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly and critical to the popular. (1976-2001)

Humanities International Complete
A comprehensive database covering 1700 journals, as well as books and reference sources in the humanities.

OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center
Includes the full text of hundreds of arts and humanities journals, such as the following film-related titles:

Camera Obscura​ ​        Cinema Journal       Journal of Popular Culture      Journal of Visual Culture
Moving Image              Wide Angle

Social Sciences Citation Index

Indexes 1,700 journals, 1898-present.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1990 - )
Indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

Academic Search Complete
This database provides full-text access to scholarly publications from nearly all areas of academic study.

"Film reviews" and "film criticism" are sometimes used interchangeably; in this context, "reviews" are articles published in newspapers and an array of non-specialist publications (for example, in trade journals or magazines instead of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals) that typically include a synopsis of the film and commentary from the reviewer. Reviews are especially useful primary sources when studying how a film was received by audiences upon its release.

Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text Includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews; more than 380 publications, more than 120 journals, and 100 books. Also includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.

Nexis Uni

• Narrow your search to book, movie, music, play, and video reviews from major news sources.

New York Times Film Reviews (1913-1980) REF PN1995 .N4

• There is an online archive of reviews from 1960 to the present at the NYT website (link below).

Variety Film Reviews (1907-1980) REF PN1995 .V34 1983

• Recent reviews are also available at Variety's website (link below).

Film Review Index (1882-1985) REF PN1995 .F53 1986

Magill's Survey of Cinema and Cinema Annual

• Magill's Survey of Cinema - Silent Films REF PN1995.75 .M33 1982
• Magill's Survey of Cinema - English Language Films, First Series REF PN1993.45 .M3
• Magill's Survey of Cinema - English Language Films, Second Series REF PN1993.45 .M32
• Magill's Survey of Cinema - Foreign Language Films REF PN1995.9.F67 M34
• Magill's Cinema Annual (1982 - present) REF PN1993.3 .M34

​Internet Movie Database