Using Electronic Indexes and Databases
- CONSORTThe Kenyon online catalog for books, films, sound recordings, and other materials held in the library.
Citations to scholarly journal articles may be located using the indexes listed in the right-hand column. A 'citation' is the information you will need to locate an article in a specific volume of a journal, including the author's name, the title of the the article, the title of the journal, the volume number, the issue number, and the page number(s) of the article. You may repeat the search string you used to locate books, adding key terms to narrow very broad searches.
To determine if the Kenyon Library owns a journal title listed search for the journal title in Consort.
General Interest Journal Databases
- Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes 375 popular general-interest periodicals, 1890-1982. Provides good primary source material, for example: Time and Newsweek coverage during the Kennedy Assassination. Includes only citations, researcher must find the journals on our shelves, through online links or on microfilm in the Library. - Readers' Guide Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes 300 popular general-interest periodicals, 1983-present. - American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized reproductions of more than 1,100 eighteenth and nineteenth century newspapers and periodicals in the original microfilm reproduction series.
Art Databases
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive abstracting and indexing for 400 leading international art publications from 1984-present. - Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications.
Recommended Scholarly Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 1,800 full text journals, the majority go back to the first volume published of the titl. Only a limited number of journals include volumes published in the last six years.
You should recognized these databases from your book review assignment. They are the fundamental databases for research in American history.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic citations and abstracts covering the historical literature of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Sources include journals, books, dissertations, and book reviews from 1964 to present. - OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
9,100 journals coverage is limited to the last seven years worth of publications. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource contains more than 8,500 full-text periodicals. In addition, Academic Search Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of 13,200 publications. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Women's Studies Journal Databases
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes 2,000 periodicals from 1972 to present. - Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia from 1972 to the present. - GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. This database provides an important historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports. - Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 4,700 books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. Materials, dating from 1543-1945, cover a wide range of topics.