Reference Works
The African American Almanac by Call Number: E185 .B8127 2012ISBN: 9781578593231Publication Date: 2011-11-04
An African Biographical Dictionary by Call Number: DT18 .B76 2006ISBN: 1592371124Publication Date: 2006-07-30
Black Women in America by ISBN: 9780195371307Publication Date: 2005-05-19Historical reference work that offers 500 separate articles on all aspects of the history of African American women, from 1619 to 2000
Encyclopedia of Free Blacks and People of Color in the Americas (Facts on File Library of American History) by ISBN: 9780816072125Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of the Great Black Migration by Call Number: E185.6.E54 2006ISBN: 0313329826Publication Date: 2006-05-01Find this and other books like it in our Print collection using the call number listed
Selected Reference Materials
- Literary Reference Source Plus This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database that provides information on thousands of authors and their works. LRC includes: plot summaries, articles of literary criticism, full text of literary journals, author biographies, book reviews, author interviews, and images of key literary figures. LRC also includes full text of selected classic and contemporary poems and short stories.
- The Trans-Atlantic Slave TradeContains records of 27,233 trans-Atlantic slave ship voyages made between 1595 and 1866. Format allows users to track information by time period and geographic region, and includes interactive maps that allow viewers to chart the trans-Atlantic connections. The accompanying data contains materials about people on board, owners and captains, ships' characteristics, and the geographic trajectory of each voyage
K-Search
Use K-Search to search for Books, Journal Articles, and Primary Sources. A great resource when you have a known item or citation that you're looking for or a really obscure topic and want to see what's out there.
Finding Books
Use CONSORT, the shared catalog of Kenyon, Denison, Ohio Wesleyan, and Wooster, to find relevant books. If you're having trouble finding an item in the library, check out the maps below that guide you through how to Find a Book Using a Call Number in Chalmers.
1. Author search: Locate books, poems, plays, reports, etc. by a specific known author: Ablovatski, Eliza
2. Title search: Locate a specific work by searching for its title: Revolution and political violence in Central Europe
NOTE: If you are unsure of the exact TITLE, try a few of the main KEYWORDS or phrases that you know instead.
3. Keyword searches allow you to use words and phrases from author names, titles, subjects, notes, and other fields, in order to hone in on material you need
When searching for resources, consider using subject headings for more precise results. If a keyword search leads to a book that seems promising, click on the subject heading links at the bottom of the record to see similar items. You can also select "subject heading" in the "search by" box and try the following:
You can also search the OhioLINK catalog, which contains the holdings of most academic and a few public libraries across Ohio.
Search Strategies
Search for books with keywords. Once you've found a relevant book, scroll down to find the SUBJECT headings. Here are some examples of relevant African Diaspora subject headings:
