Art Images
-
ARTstor This link opens in a new windowImages from some of the world’s leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists. Create a personal account in order to download images
-
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new windowTo find images click the "Image" link on the top blue header above the search box. Covering news, controversial and popular topics
-
New York Public Library Digital CollectionFree and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections.
-
Images of the French RevolutionThe Images are composed of high-resolution digital images of approximately 12,000 individual visual items, primarily prints, but also illustrations, medals, coins, and other objects, which display aspects of the Revolution. Detailed metadata exists for the images, so that researchers can search by artist, subject, genre, and place.
-
Alinari Archives This link opens in a new window
Photo library that includes 5.5 million images documenting the history, culture, customs, society, art, architecture, industry and landscape of both Italy and the world, from mid-800 to the present (available in English or Italian).
-
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Magazine archive that includes the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from 1892-present.
-
Food and Drink in History This link opens in a new window
Primary source collection that includes cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government reports, films, and images that illustrate the links between food & identity, politics & power, gender, race and socioeconomic status
Guide to Getty Imagery Series Texts
-
Love and the Erotic in ArtRequest through OhioLINK
N8220 .Z8413 2010 -
Medicine in ArtDenison: N8223 .B6713 2010
-
Music in ArtDenison: ML85 .A9713 2009
-
Angels and Demons in Art
by
Call Number: N8090 .G5513 2005ISBN: 9780892368303Publication Date: 2005-11-01This sumptuously illustrated volume analyzes artists' representations of angels and demons and heaven and hell from the Judeo-Christian tradition and describes how these artistic portrayals evolved over time. -
Artists' Techniques and Materials
by
Call Number: N7430 .F8413 2006ISBN: 0892368608Publication Date: 2006-10-02This latest volume in the popular Guide to Imagery series discusses the materials and processes used in eight media: painting, drawing, printmaking, sculpture, mosaics, ceramics, glass, and metalwork. -
Astrology, Magic, and Alchemy in Art
by
Call Number: N7745.A4 B3813 2007ISBN: 9780892369072Publication Date: 2007-12-03REQUEST THROUGH OHIOLINK - From antiquity to the Enlightenment, astrology, magic, and alchemy were considered important tools to unravel the mysteries of nature and human destiny. As a result of the West's exposure during the Middle Ages to the astrological beliefs of Arab philosophers and the mystical writings of late antiquity, these occult traditions became rich sources of inspiration for Western artists. -
Death and Resurrection in Art
by
Call Number: N8217.D5 D4313 2009ISBN: 9780892369478Publication Date: 2009-03-15REQUEST THROUGH OHIOLINK - While focusing on the Western artistic tradition, the book also includes many artworks from Asia, Africa, and Oceania. De Pascale explores depictions of these two subjects thematically, through chapters on violent death, ceremonial tributes to the departed, allegorical depictions of death, and the journey to the afterlife. -
Food and Feasting in Art
by
Call Number: N8217.F64 M2513 2008ISBN: 9780892369140Publication Date: 2008-03-03Deliciously illustrated with masterpieces of western art, this latest volume in the Guide to Imagery series explores the rituals, customs, and symbolism of food and dining. -
Gods and Heroes in Art
by
Call Number: N7760 .I4713 2003ISBN: 0892367024Publication Date: 2003-04-03Each entry is richly illustrated with reproductions of works of art in which the god or hero is pictured, giving readers a chance to examine images of the character and to understand the work of art better. -
Icons and Saints of the Eastern Orthodox Church
by
Call Number: N8187.5 .T7313 2006ISBN: 9780892368457Publication Date: 2006-09-01The goal of this book is to catalogue the vast heritage of images according to iconographic type and subject, from the most ancient at the Monastery of Saint Catherine in the Sinai to those from Greece, Constantinople, and Russia. -
Consuming Bodies
by
ISBN: 9781861891471Publication Date: 2004-02-03Consuming Bodies explores the themes of sex and consumerism in contemporary Japanese art and how they connect with the wider historical, social and political conditions in Japanese culture. -
Images
by
Call Number: ML3556 .S738 2000ISBN: 0815328753Publication Date: 2000-11-28This lavishly illustrated book brings together for the first time a significant body of imagery devoted to the traditional culture of the African-American slave. -
Nature and Its Symbols
by
Call Number: N7680 .I4713 2004ISBN: 0892367725Publication Date: 2004-12-01This volume includes chapters on plants, flowers, fruits, and animals of the earth, air, and water, as well as fantastical creatures such as centaurs, griffons, and dragons. -
Symbols of Power in Art
by
Call Number: N8219.K5 R3613 2011ISBN: 9781606060667Publication Date: 2011-04-12From medieval sovereigns such as Charlemagne and France's Louis IX to the tsars of Russia and the great European royal dynasties of the Hapsburgs, the Bourbons, and the Tudors, the rulers of each period have appropriated and often embellished the emblems of power employed by their predecessors. -
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art
by
Call Number: N7560 .H34 2008ISBN: 9780813343938Publication Date: 2014-03-01Combined here in a single volume are religious, classical, and historical themes, figures of moral allegory, and characters from romantic poetry that appeared throughout paintings and sculpture in Western art before and after the Renaissance. -
Symbols and Rebuses in Chinese Art
by
Call Number: N7340 .F36 2004ISBN: 1580085512Publication Date: 2004-03-01This work catalogues hundreds of symbols in Chinese artistry, and describes each of their meanings. It explains why a depiction of a bat can mean happiness, and why some beautiful images, such as sparrows and pears, are rarely seen. -
Dangerous Women
by
Call Number: N7630 .A35 2009ISBN: 9782080301284Publication Date: 2010-01-05In this gallery of femmes fatales, feminist historian Laure Adler guides us through the ages to rediscover incredible heroines. Their stories are illustrated with iconic works by masters such as da Vinci, Michelangelo, Botticelli, Rubens, Goya, Sargent, Picasso, Dali, Warhol, de Saint Phalle, and Tracey Emin.
