Using Electronic Indexes and Databases
Citations to scholarly journal articles may be located using the databases listed in the right-hand column. A 'citation' is the information you will need to locate an article in a specific volume of a journal, including the author's name, the title of the the article, the title of the journal, the volume number, the issue number, and the page number(s) of the article. You may repeat the search string you used to locate books, adding key terms to narrow very broad searches.
To determine if the Kenyon Library owns a journal title listed search for the journal title in Consort.
EXAMPLES
A keyword search for jennifer bartlett in Art Full Text resulted in a listing of 102 periodical articles (including articles about her, book reviews of books about her, exhibition reviews, illustrations of her works in journals). To narrow this search I added the term 'pastels' to one of the search term boxes.
Getting articles not available at Kenyon
To obtain articles in journals which our library does not own you must place Interlibrary loan requests online. If the journal is in another Consort or Ohiolink library you will normally receive a xeroxed copy of the article in 2-3 weeks. If the journal is not in either Consort or Ohiolink it may take longer for our staff to locate a copy elsewhere in the country. Please allow yourself plenty of time when requesting a copy of a journal article.
Primary Sources
Primary sources are an important component in art history research. Use the Primary Sources Libguide to access our complete listing of online newspapers, e-books, etc.
Indexes and Databases
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new windowArt Full Text provides comprehensive abstracting and indexing for 400 leading international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. This database offers broad coverage of art topics, including advertising, archaeology, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, video, film, architecture, and art history.
- Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowProvides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) This link opens in a new windowThe Bibliography of the History of Art covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present and indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 4,800 periodicals.
- International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new windowThis database is the successor to BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art) and covers European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945.
- Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals This link opens in a new windowIndexes 42 art journals published in the US during the 19th century, providing nearly complete coverage of journals from this period. The Index describes the entire journal contents — articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements — and offers information on popular culture and industry, artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decorations, and collecting.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance This link opens in a new windowBibliography of approximately 1,100,000 records for articles, essays, books, dissertation abstracts, encyclopedia entries and reviews, collected from over 10,000 publications, including over 1,700 journals.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database designed specifically for academic institutions. This resource contains more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition, Academic Search Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowOver 1,800 full text journals. Moving wall for recent publications.
- OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center This link opens in a new window9,100 full-text journals. Moving wall of 7 most recent years.
Art Journals at Kenyon
- Burlington MagazineThe Burlington Magazine Publications Ltd has created an Online Index which includes the entire content of The Burlington Magazine dating from March 1903 until December 2002. (Work in issues 2003-present is in progress).The Online Index is free to use, subject to free registration. JSTOR subscribers can then view articles and illustrations online.
The complete listing of nearly 190 print and electronic art -- periodicals is available through at Kenyon's CONSORT catalog. Below are just a few of the titles included in this collection.
- Bulletin/ Philadelphia MuseumFull text from 10/01/1956 to 07/31/2005.
- ApolloFull-text from 2006 to present.
- Art in AmericaFull-text from 11/1/2002 to present.