This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Kenyon College

 

Anthropology Resources: Getting Started

Find Books

Find Images

Reference Shelves

Encyclopedia of Anthropology [Ref. GN11 E63 2006]
A five volume encyclopedia which studies topics related to human evolution, human culture, and human reality in a global context. This collection reports on humans as biological and cultural beings. Includes a bibliography for each entry.

Encyclopedia of Archaeology [Ref. CC70 .E54 2008]
A three volume encyclopedia covers topics relating archaeology.

Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries [Ref. CC100 .E54 2001 or online]
This three volume series focuses on the history of the field of archaeology. Includes major events, key figures, sites, and discoveries. 

Encyclopedia of Archaeology: The Great Archaeologiests [Ref.  CC110 .E54 1999]
This two volume series contains biographies of famous archaeologists whose work spanned the globe. Also available in an electronic version.

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology [Ref. GN307 .E52 1996] 
This four volume encyclopedia covers all of the sub-fields, important persons, topics,  concepts, and organizations in the field of cultural anthropology.   Each essay also includes a bibliography for further research.

Encyclopdia of Human Geography [Ref. GF4 E54 2006]
This encyclopedia studies how humans use the surface of the Earth, how social phenomena are distributed spacially, and how human beings bring space into consciousness.

Ethnologue: Languages of the World [Ref. P371 .E83 2009 or online
Contains information on 7,105 known living languages.

Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear Through the Ages [Ref. GT511 .P46 2004]
A broad overview of costume and clothing traditions of diverse cultures from prehistoric times to the present day.

History of Physical Anthropology: An Encyclopedia [Ref. GN 50.3 .H57 1997]
This two volume encyclopedia covers the major areas and subfields of the discipline.  It also includes biographical sketches of major and minor figures in the field and entries on the history and development of the discipline in countries around the world.

Encyclopedia of Prehistory [Ref. GN710 E532 2000]
A nine volume encyclopedia; each volume discusses a different continent or geographic region. Provides information on all archaeologically known cultures, covering the globe and humankinds prehistory. Helpful for comparative studies.

Peoples, Nations, and Culture: An A-Z of the People's of the World, Past and Present [Ref. GN316 P38 2005]

Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology, 2nd edition [Ref. GN307 .R68 2010] 
Provides a guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline.

Theory in Social and Cultural Anthropology: An Encyclopedia [Ref. GN307 .T54 2013]
A two volume set which provides concise overviews of key theories and theorists.

Online Streaming Videos

View this documentary or other films from one of our many video streaming sites. 

© 2015. LBIS, Kenyon College
103 College Drive, Gambier, OH 43022-9624
Tel: (740) 427-5186