DRAM 242: Costume Design
Welcome!
Welcome! This guide contains a large collection of books, databases, image collections, and more which are related to costume design and fashion, both historical and contemporary.
If you have any questions, suggestions, or would like to discuss research or resources, feel free to get in contact via any of the methods provided in my profile box elsewhere on the page.
Searchable image collections
-
ARTstor This link opens in a new windowOne million images. Search for such broad categories as individual artists from the period or 'dress', 'shoes', 'suit', etc.
-
NYPL Digital CollectionsExplore 1,066,476 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections.
-
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Scholarly art encyclopedia covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present, with entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, as well as scholarly articles and bibliographies.
-
Alinari Photographic ArchivesOne of the oldest photographic archives in the world, with its origins in Florence in the 1850s.
-
Library of Congress Digital CollectionsDigitized collections from the Library of Congress that have been made available online.
Museum collections
-
The V&A Fashion CollectionSpanning five centuries, the V&A's Fashion collection is one of the largest and most comprehensive collection of dress in the world.
-
Drexel Digital Museum ProjectA searchable database of archival data and detailed graphics for the Drexel Historic Costume Collection
-
Digital Collections from the Kellen Design ArchivesThe New School's digital archives contain 150 different collections related to fashion design
-
The Costume Institute at The METThe Costume Institute's collection of more than 33,000 objects represents seven centuries of fashionable dress and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present.
-
Hampshire MuseumsA collection of costume and textiles from Hampshire Cultural Trust including embroideries from the 17th century and dress and accessories from the 18th century onward.
