Search Strategies
Search for books with keywords. Once you've found a relevant book, scroll down to find the SUBJECT headings for more ideas. Here are some examples of Music subject headings:
-
Instrumental ensembles -- Scores and parts
-
Music -- 17th century -- History and criticism
-
Musical criticism
-
Musicians, Cajun
-
World music -- Encyclopedias
Reference Books
-
Directory of Choral-Orchestral Music
by
Call Number: ML128.C48 R67 2007ISBN: 9780415980043Publication Date: 2006-09-12First published in 2007. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company. -
The Encyclopedia of Native Music
by
Call Number: ML156.4.I5 W75 2005ISBN: 0816524475Publication Date: 2018Want the word on Buffy Sainte-Marie? Looking for the best powwow recordings? Wondering what else Jim Pepper cut besides "Witchi Tai To"? This book opens up the world of Native American music, embracing a wide range of forms: country and folk, jazz and swing, reggae and rap. Brian Wright-McLeod, producer/host of Canada's longest-running Native radio program, has gathered the musicians and their music into this comprehensive reference, an authoritative source for biographies and discographies of hundreds of Native artists. -
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music
by
Call Number: ML102.P66 G84 1998ISBN: 1561592374Publication Date: 2006 -
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
by
ISBN: 0824060350Publication Date: 1997-08-01Explores key themes in African music that have emerged in recent years-a subject usually neglected in country-by-country coverage emphasizes the contexts of musical performance-unlike studies that offer static interpretations isolated from other performing traditions presents the fresh insights and analyses of musicologists and anthropologists of diverse national origins-African, Asian, European, and American Charts the flow and influence of music. -
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
by
Call Number: ML100 .N48 2001 V. 1-29ISBN: 1561592390Publication Date: 2003-02-11Since its initial publication in 1980, the Dictionary has been widely acclaimed as an indispensable resource and a classic reference. The word "updated" doesn't begin to describe the thousands of new articles, topics, cross-references, and areas of scholarship incorporated into The New GroveII. Every one of the first edition's 22,500 articles has been reviewed and revised, with thousands of articles expanded. Previously neglected or under-represented areas have been examined, explored, and explained. Movements and topics once deemed too controversial or too far from the mainstream havebeen added. And throughout, 6,500 new articles cover more than 5,000 years of music history, instruments, composers, institutions, performers, genres, and more. -
The Oxford Companion to Music
by
Call Number: ML100 .S37 2002ISBN: 0198662122Publication Date: 2011First published in 1938, The Oxford Companion to Music has been the first choice for authoritative information on all aspects of music. Now, 17 years since the last edition, the Companion is here to serve a new generation of students, teachers, performers, concert goers, record collectors, and music lovers. Completely revised and updated by a distinguished team of contributors, the Oxford Companion to Music features more than 1,000 new entries than the previous edition; more than 70 percent of the entire text is either new or entirely rewritten.
Locating a book
Locating a book in Chalmers
After you've identified a book you're interested in, you'll need its Call Number in order to find it:
Call number breakdown
The call number for the book in the screenshot above is HQ1155 .S66 2010. This call number breaks down as follows:
- HQ represents the general subject area and is sorted in alphabetical order, e.g.,
G ⇒ HQ ⇒ J
HN ⇒ HQ ⇒ HS - 1155 represents a specific subdomain or discipline and is sorted as a whole number, e.g.,
HQ310 ⇒ HQ1155 ⇒ HQ2100
HQ1140.9 ⇒ HQ1155 ⇒ HQ1155.1 - .S66 represents the author's last name or another identifier and is sorted alphabetically by letter and then numerically as a decimal, e.g.,
HQ1155 .R98 ⇒ HQ1155 .S66 ⇒ HQ1155 .T11
HQ1155 .S42 ⇒ HQ1155 .S66 ⇒ HQ1155 .S8 - 2010 is the year of publication but is not usually necessary for finding a book
Finding your book
- Use the one or two letters at the start of the call number (HQ in this example) to identify the book's general location in the library.
- Once in the general area, use the labels at the end of each shelf to find the row containing the initial letter/number combination (HQ1155 in this example).
- The initial letter/number combination (HQ1155) should narrow the search down to one or two shelves, where either the book's author and title or the decimal letter/number (.S66 in this example) can be used to identify the correct book
- If necessary, the date (2010 in this example) can be used to differentiate between editions or works by the same author
General location of call numbers
The maps below give the general arrangement in Chalmers Library of the one or two letter that begin each call number:
Chalmers L1
Chalmers L2
