This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Kenyon College

 

Greenslade Special Collections and Archives: For Faculty

The Greenslade Special Collections and Archives houses Kenyon's rare books, literary manuscripts, photographs, newspapers, and College archives.

Hours & Contact

Due to the limitations of our temporary home, visits to Special Collections & Archives are by Appointment Only.

Appointments can be scheduled using the request form on the Home page.

Email: archives@kenyon.edu

Phone: (740) 427-5668

Schedule a Class Visit

Prior to a scheduled class visit, faculty are required to meet with SC&A staff to discuss the format of the class session, the materials to be exhibited, and any additional preparatory information.

To schedule a class session, please fill out the request form on our Home page, email archives@kenyon.edu, or call (740)427-5996.

Examples of class options: 

Single class session with no subsequent assignment
Offers students general familiarity with SC&A materials and procedures; experience handling rare and fragile items; experience examining, interrogating, and interpreting documents

Single class session with single assignment (requires student return visit(s) to SC&A)
Offers students greater understanding of SC&A collections; experience interpreting materials and confronting challenges like handwritten documents and incomplete documentation; introduces students to the archival research process

Multiple class sessions with multiple assignments (requires student return visits to SC&A)
Offers students deep understanding of SC&A holdings; ability to examine and interpret primary sources complemented by secondary sources; allows students to undertake archival research and learn about primary research methodology through first-hand experience

Student Projects

In addition to class visits, faculty may assign their students projects requiring research in the Special Collections and Archives. We encourage you to pursue this option, be it as a mandatory part of your course or for extra credit. Not only do students benefit from handling and studying primary sources more closely, independent projects help them develop their research and library skills.

Special Collections Librarian

Elizabeth Williams-Clymer's picture
Elizabeth Williams-Clymer
Contact:
Ransom Lawn, Library C
740.427.5996

College & Digital Collections Archivist

© 2015. LBIS, Kenyon College
103 College Drive, Gambier, OH 43022-9624
Tel: (740) 427-5186